2012 Regular Session


File Code: Criminal Law - Procedure Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 301
Sponsored By:
Delegates Frush, Barnes, Barve, Beidle, Bohanan, Bromwell, DeBoy, Frick, Gaines, Guzzone, Healey, Hubbard, Ivey, Kach, A. Kelly, Kipke, Lafferty, Love, McConkey, McDonough, Morhaim, Murphy, Nathan-Pulliam, Pena-Melnyk, B. Robinson, Ross, Stein, Summers, V. Turner, Valderrama, Valentino-Smith, and Walker
Maryland Animal Abuse Registry


Requiring the Department of State Police to establish the Maryland Animal Abuse Registry; requiring the Registry to be updated in a specified manner and to include specified information; requiring a person convicted of specified crimes involving animal cruelty to register with the county sheriff for a specified period in a specified manner; requiring a registrant to provide specified information for registration; requiring the county sheriff to obtain a photograph from a person registering under the Act; etc.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

Legislative date is used to record history occurring in the Chambers otherwise Calendar date is used. For explanation of terms click here.
House Action
First Reading Judiciary
Hearing 3/14 at 1:00 p.m.
Unfavorable Report by Judiciary
Senate Action
No Action

Sponsored by:

Delegate Barbara Frush, District 21
Delegate Ben Barnes, District 21
Delegate Kumar P. Barve, District 17
Delegate Pamela Beidle, District 32
Delegate John L. Bohanan, Jr., District 29B
Delegate Eric M. Bromwell, District 8
Delegate Steven J. DeBoy, Sr., District 12A
Delegate C. William Frick, District 16
Delegate Tawanna P. Gaines, District 22
Delegate Guy Guzzone, District 13
Delegate Anne Healey, District 22
Delegate James W. Hubbard, District 23A
Delegate Jolene Ivey, District 47
Delegate Wade Kach, District 5B
Delegate Ariana B. Kelly, District 16
Delegate Nicholaus R. Kipke, District 31
Delegate Stephen W. Lafferty, District 42
Delegate Mary Ann E. Love, District 32
Delegate Tony McConkey, District 33A
Delegate Pat McDonough, District 7
Delegate Dan K. Morhaim, District 11
Delegate Peter Murphy, District 28
Delegate Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, District 10
Delegate Joseline A. Pena-Melnyk, District 21
Delegate Barbara Robinson, District 40
Delegate Justin D. Ross, District 22
Delegate Dana Stein, District 11
Delegate Michael G. Summers, District 47
Delegate Veronica Turner, District 26
Delegate Kriselda Valderrama, District 26
Delegate Geraldine Valentino-Smith, District 23A
Delegate Jay Walker, District 26

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Animals -see also- Birds; Turtles
Appeals -see also- Judicial Review
Auditors and Audits
Commerce and Business -see also- Dealers; Elec. Comm.; etc
Counties -see also- Chartered Counties; Code Counties
Crimes and Punishments -see also- Penalties and Sentnc; etc.
District Courts
Electronic Government
Fees -see also- Attys' Fees; Devt Fees & Taxes; Reimb Rates.
Penalties and Sentences -see also- Death Penalty
Public Information
Registration -see also- Motor Vehicle Registration
Revenue and Taxes -see also- Dev Fees &Taxes; specific tax
State Police, Department of

Bill affects the following Statute:

Criminal Procedure
( 11-1101 through 11-1111 )


All documents except Roll Call Votes are displayed in PDF format:
Bill Text: First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal and Policy Note: Available
Amendments: None offered
Committee Votes :