2011 Regular Session


File Code: Utility Regulation Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 861
Sponsored By:
The Speaker (By Request - Administration) and Delegates Hucker, Barve, Braveboy, Feldman, Burns, Anderson, Barnes, Beidle, Bobo, Bromwell, Cardin, Clippinger, Conway, Frick, Frush, Gilchrist, Glenn, Hubbard, Lafferty, Lee, Luedtke, McIntosh, Mizeur, Morhaim, Nathan-Pulliam, Niemann, Reznik, S. Robinson, Stein, Tarrant, F. Turner, Vaughn, Waldstreicher, and Washington
Maryland Offshore Wind Energy Act


Requiring the Public Service Commission, by regulation or order, to require specified electric companies to enter into specified long-term power purchase agreements with specified offshore wind generators; making the Commission responsible for approving specified contracts; authorizing a nonbypassable charge or other mechanism for recovery of specified costs; etc.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

Legislative date is used to record history occurring in the Chambers otherwise Calendar date is used.
House Action
First Reading Economic Matters
Hearing 3/3 at 1:00 p.m.
Senate Action
No Action

Sponsored by:

Speaker, The
Delegate Curt Anderson, District 43
Delegate Ben Barnes, District 21
Delegate Kumar P. Barve, District 17
Delegate Pamela Beidle, District 32
Delegate Elizabeth Bobo, District 12B
Delegate Aisha N. Braveboy, District 25
Delegate Eric M. Bromwell, District 8
Delegate Emmett C. Burns, Jr., District 10
Delegate Jon S. Cardin, District 11
Delegate Luke Clippinger, District 46
Delegate Norman H. Conway, District 38B
Delegate Brian J. Feldman, District 15
Delegate C. William Frick, District 16
Delegate Barbara Frush, District 21
Delegate Jim Gilchrist, District 17
Delegate Cheryl D. Glenn, District 45
Delegate James W. Hubbard, District 23A
Delegate Tom Hucker, District 20
Delegate Stephen W. Lafferty, District 42
Delegate Susan C. Lee, District 16
Delegate Eric G. Luedtke, District 14
Delegate Maggie McIntosh, District 43
Delegate Heather R. Mizeur, District 20
Delegate Dan K. Morhaim, District 11
Delegate Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, District 10
Delegate Doyle L. Niemann, District 47
Delegate Kirill Reznik, District 39
Delegate Shane Robinson, District 39
Delegate Dana Stein, District 11
Delegate Shawn Z. Tarrant, District 40
Delegate Frank S. Turner, District 13
Delegate Michael L. Vaughn, District 24
Delegate Jeff Waldstreicher, District 18
Delegate Mary L. Washington, District 43

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Alternative Energy Sources
Contracts -see also- Land Installment Contracts; Procurement
Counties -see also- Chartered Counties; Code Counties
Energy Matters -see also- Alt Energy Res; Fuel; Power Plants
Environment, Department of
Fees -see also- Attys' Fees; Devt Fees & Taxes; Reimb Rates.
High Voltage Lines
Licenses -see also- Alcoholic Bev Lic; Drivers' Licenses
Municipal Corporations -see also- Annap; Balt; Hager; OC
Natural Resources, Department of
Power Plants
Public Information
Public Service Commission
Shore Erosion
Utilities -see also- High Voltage Lines; Telephones; Water

Bill affects the following Statutes:

Natural Resources
( 8-1102 )
Public Utilities
( 7-207 , 7-208 , 7-801 , 7-802 , 7-803 )


All documents except Roll Call Votes are displayed in PDF format:
Bill Text: First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal and Policy Note: Available
Amendments: None offered