2010 Regular Session


File Code: Public Health Prior Year Introduction As: HB 1279/09 - HGO Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 521
Sponsored By:
Delegates Mizeur, Smigiel, Ross, Barkley, Barnes, Benson, Bronrott, Carr, Frick, Frush, Gaines, Gutierrez, Hixson, Hubbard, Ivey, Kaiser, Kramer, Kullen, Lee, Manno, McHale, McIntosh, Montgomery, Morhaim, Nathan-Pulliam, Niemann, Pena-Melnyk, Ramirez, Reznik, Rosenberg, V. Turner, and Valderrama
Family Planning Works Act


Altering the eligibility requirements for family planning services under the Maryland Medical Assistance Program by requiring the Program to provide those services to all women whose family income is at or below 250 percent of the poverty level; and declaring the intent of the General Assembly to use any long-term savings from the Act to continue the operation of the Upper Shore Community Health Center in Chestertown, Maryland.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

Legislative date is used to record history occurring in the Chambers otherwise Calendar date is used.
House Action
First Reading Health and Government Operations
Hearing 3/16 at 1:00 p.m.
Unfavorable Report by Health and Government Operations Withdrawn
Senate Action
No Action

Sponsored by:

Delegate Heather R. Mizeur, District 20
Delegate Charles Barkley, District 39
Delegate Ben Barnes, District 21
Delegate Joanne C. Benson, District 24
Delegate William A. Bronrott, District 16
Delegate Alfred C. Carr, Jr., District 18
Delegate C. William Frick, District 16
Delegate Barbara Frush, District 21
Delegate Tawanna P. Gaines, District 22
Delegate Ana Sol Gutierrez, District 18
Delegate Sheila E. Hixson, District 20
Delegate James W. Hubbard, District 23A
Delegate Jolene Ivey, District 47
Delegate Anne R. Kaiser, District 14
Delegate Benjamin F. Kramer, District 19
Delegate Sue Kullen, District 27B
Delegate Susan C. Lee, District 16
Delegate Roger P. Manno, District 19
Delegate Brian K. McHale, District 46
Delegate Maggie McIntosh, District 43
Delegate Karen S. Montgomery, District 14
Delegate Dan K. Morhaim, District 11
Delegate Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, District 10
Delegate Doyle L. Niemann, District 47
Delegate Joseline A. Pena-Melnyk, District 21
Delegate Victor R. Ramirez, District 47
Delegate Kirill Reznik, District 39
Delegate Samuel I. Rosenberg, District 41
Delegate Justin D. Ross, District 22
Delegate Michael D. Smigiel, Sr., District 36
Delegate Veronica Turner, District 26
Delegate Kriselda Valderrama, District 26

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Birth Control
Kent County
Medical Assistance
Mental Health
State Hospitals

Bill affects the following Statute:

Health - General
( 15-103 )


All documents except Roll Call Votes are displayed in PDF format:
Bill Text: First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal and Policy Note: Available
Amendments: None offered
Committee Votes :
Health and Government Operations