2010 Regular Session


File Code: Alcoholic Beverages - Statewide Bills Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 858
Sponsored By:
Delegates Love, Bates, Beidle, Bromwell, Cane, Cardin, V. Clagett, Costa, DeBoy, Eckardt, Elliott, Elmore, Frush, George, Haddaway, Jameson, Kipke, Krebs, Mathias, McHale, Miller, Myers, Schuh, Schuler, Shewell, Smigiel, Sophocleus, Sossi, Wood, Feldman, Hecht, Impallaria, Manno, Minnick, Stifler, and Walkup
Maryland Winery Modernization Act


Authorizing the Comptroller to issue a farmer's market permit to specified alcoholic beverages license holders; specifying that a permit may be used only at a specified time and place and for specified purposes; requiring the licensee to notify the local licensing board of the issuance of a farmer's market permit; limiting the number of permits that the Comptroller may issue; altering the scope of the Class 4 limited winery license; authorizing a licensee to exercise specified privileges; etc.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

Legislative date is used to record history occurring in the Chambers otherwise Calendar date is used.
House Action
First Reading Economic Matters
Hearing 2/23 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Economic Matters
Favorable with Amendments
Special Order 3/17 (Delegate Davis) Adopted
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Special Order 3/18 (Delegate Ali) Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed (136-0)
Senate Action
First Reading Education Health and Environmental Affairs

Sponsored by:

Delegate Mary Ann E. Love, District 32
Delegate Gail H. Bates, District 9A
Delegate Pamela Beidle, District 32
Delegate Eric M. Bromwell, District 8
Delegate Rudolph C. Cane, District 37A
Delegate Jon S. Cardin, District 11
Delegate Virginia P. Clagett, District 30
Delegate Robert A. Costa, District 33B
Delegate Steven J. DeBoy, Sr., District 12A
Delegate Adelaide C. Eckardt, District 37B
Delegate Donald B. Elliott, District 4B
Delegate D. Page Elmore, District 38A
Delegate Brian J. Feldman, District 15
Delegate Barbara Frush, District 21
Delegate Ron George, District 30
Delegate Jeannie Haddaway, District 37B
Delegate Sue Hecht, District 3A
Delegate Rick Impallaria, District 7
Delegate Sally Jameson, District 28
Delegate Nicholaus R. Kipke, District 31
Delegate Susan W. Krebs, District 9B
Delegate Roger P. Manno, District 19
Delegate James N. Mathias, Jr., District 38B
Delegate Brian K. McHale, District 46
Delegate Warren E. Miller, District 9A
Delegate Joseph J. Minnick, District 6
Delegate LeRoy E. Myers, Jr., District 1C
Delegate Steven R. Schuh, District 31
Delegate Todd Schuler, District 8
Delegate Tanya T. Shewell, District 5A
Delegate Michael D. Smigiel, Sr., District 36
Delegate Theodore Sophocleus, District 32
Delegate Richard A. Sossi, District 36
Delegate Donna Stifler, District 35A
Delegate Mary Roe Walkup, District 36
Delegate John F. Wood, Jr., District 29A

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Agriculture, Department of
Agriculture -see also- Farmland
Alcoholic Beverages -see also- AB-By Subd; Substance Abuse
Alcoholic Beverages Licenses
Alcoholic Beverages - By Subdivision
Blue Laws
Carroll County
Frederick County
Garrett County
Interstate Affairs
Records -see also- Land Records; Vital Records

Bill affects the following Statutes:

Article - 2B Alcoholic Beverages
( 2-101 , 2-201 , 2-205 , 11-507 , 11-511 )


All documents except Roll Call Votes are displayed in PDF format:
Bill Text: First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal and Policy Note: Available
Number: 563598/01     Offered on: March 17, 2010   at: 11:34 a.m.     Status: Adopted
Committee Votes :
Economic Matters
Roll Call Vote (Legislative date is shown):
March 20, 2010: Third Reading Passed (136-0)