2010 Regular Session


File Code: Taxes - Property Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 683
Sponsored By:
Delegates Niemann, Ross, Barnes, Benson, Braveboy, Davis, Frush, Gaines, Griffith, Healey, Holmes, Howard, Hubbard, Ivey, Levi, Pena-Melnyk, Proctor, Ramirez, V. Turner, Valderrama, Vallario, Vaughn, and Walker
Property Taxes - Bicounty Commissions


Providing that the homestead property tax credit applies to any State, county, or municipal corporation property tax and specified taxes imposed for specified bicounty commissions; specifying the applicable homestead credit percentage for specified taxes imposed for specified bicounty commissions; applying the Act to tax years beginning after June 30, 2010; etc.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

Legislative date is used to record history occurring in the Chambers otherwise Calendar date is used.
House Action
First Reading Ways and Means
Hearing 3/11 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Ways and Means
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed (138-0)
House Refuses to Concur - Senate Amendments
House Requests Senate Recede
Conference Committee Appointed
Delegates Ross, Frick, and Bartlett
Senate Action
First Reading Budget and Taxation
Hearing 3/31 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Budget and Taxation
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Special Order 4/8 (Senator Peters) Adopted
Third Reading Passed with Amendments (47-0)

Sponsored by:

Delegate Doyle L. Niemann, District 47
Delegate Ben Barnes, District 21
Delegate Joanne C. Benson, District 24
Delegate Aisha N. Braveboy, District 25
Delegate Dereck E. Davis, District 25
Delegate Barbara Frush, District 21
Delegate Tawanna P. Gaines, District 22
Delegate Melony G. Griffith, District 25
Delegate Anne Healey, District 22
Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr., District 23B
Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate James W. Hubbard, District 23A
Delegate Jolene Ivey, District 47
Delegate Gerron S. Levi, District 23A
Delegate Joseline A. Pena-Melnyk, District 21
Delegate James E. Proctor, Jr., District 27A
Delegate Victor R. Ramirez, District 47
Delegate Justin D. Ross, District 22
Delegate Veronica Turner, District 26
Delegate Kriselda Valderrama, District 26
Delegate Joseph F. Vallario, Jr., District 27A
Delegate Michael L. Vaughn, District 24
Delegate Jay Walker, District 26

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Committees and Commissions -see also- Political Committees
Counties -see also- Chartered Counties; Code Counties
Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission
Mass Transit -see also- Buses; Railroads
Municipal Corporations -see also- Annap; Balt; Hager; OC
Property Tax
Special Tax Districts
Tax Credits -see also- Circuit Breaker
Washington Suburban Sanitary District

Bill affects the following Statutes:

Tax - Property
( 9-105 , 9-105 , 9-105 , 9-105 , 9-105 )


All documents except Roll Call Votes are displayed in PDF format:
Bill Text: First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal and Policy Note: Available
Number: 345360/01     Offered on: March 24, 2010   at: 10:33 a.m.     Status: Adopted
Number: 899139/01     Offered on: April 5, 2010   at: 9:37 p.m.     Status: Adopted
Committee Votes :
Ways and Means
Budget and Taxation
Roll Call Votes (Legislative dates are shown):
March 23, 2010: Third Reading Passed (138-0)
April 4, 2010: Third Reading Passed (47-0)