2010 Regular Session


File Code: Criminal Law - Substantive Crimes Prior Year Introduction As: HB 195/04 - JUD
Sponsored By:
Delegates Lee, Barkley, Boteler, Bronrott, DeBoy, Dumais, Eckardt, Frick, Glenn, Gutierrez, Healey, Hecht, Howard, Impallaria, Kipke, Kramer, Kullen, Manno, McDonough, Montgomery, Morhaim, Nathan-Pulliam, Pendergrass, Reznik, Rice, Robinson, Shewell, F. Turner, V. Turner, Valderrama, and Waldstreicher
Crimes - Unauthorized Computer Access for Sabotage of State Government, Public Utilities, or Other Energy Infrastructure


Prohibiting a person from intentionally and willfully gaining unauthorized access to computer services with the intent to interrupt or impair the functioning of the State government, a service, device, or system related to the production, transmission, delivery, or storage of electricity or natural gas in the State that is owned, operated, or controlled by a person other than a public service company, or a service provided in the State by a public service company; establishing penalties; etc.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

Legislative date is used to record history occurring in the Chambers otherwise Calendar date is used.
House Action
First Reading Judiciary
Hearing 3/9 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Judiciary
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed (140-0)
House Concur - Senate Amendments
Third Reading Passed (138-3)
Passed Enrolled
Senate Action
First Reading Judicial Proceedings
Hearing 4/1 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Judicial Proceedings
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed with Amendments (46-0)
Action after passage in House and Senate
Approved by the Governor
- Chapter 436

Sponsored by:

Delegate Susan C. Lee, District 16
Delegate Charles Barkley, District 39
Delegate Joseph C. Boteler, III, District 8
Delegate William A. Bronrott, District 16
Delegate Steven J. DeBoy, Sr., District 12A
Delegate Kathleen M. Dumais, District 15
Delegate Adelaide C. Eckardt, District 37B
Delegate C. William Frick, District 16
Delegate Cheryl D. Glenn, District 45
Delegate Ana Sol Gutierrez, District 18
Delegate Anne Healey, District 22
Delegate Sue Hecht, District 3A
Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate Rick Impallaria, District 7
Delegate Nicholaus R. Kipke, District 31
Delegate Benjamin F. Kramer, District 19
Delegate Sue Kullen, District 27B
Delegate Roger P. Manno, District 19
Delegate Pat McDonough, District 7
Delegate Karen S. Montgomery, District 14
Delegate Dan K. Morhaim, District 11
Delegate Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, District 10
Delegate Shane E. Pendergrass, District 13
Delegate Kirill Reznik, District 39
Delegate Craig L. Rice, District 15
Delegate Barbara Robinson, District 40
Delegate Tanya T. Shewell, District 5A
Delegate Frank S. Turner, District 13
Delegate Veronica Turner, District 26
Delegate Kriselda Valderrama, District 26
Delegate Jeff Waldstreicher, District 18

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Administrative Agencies -see also- Electronic Government
Computers -see also- Electronic Commerce; Electronic Govmnt.
Crimes and Punishments -see also- Penalties and Sentnc; etc.
Energy Matters -see also- Alt Energy Res; Fuel; Power Plants
Penalties and Sentences -see also- Death Penalty
Utilities -see also- High Voltage Lines; Telephones; Water

Bill affects the following Statute:

Criminal Law
( 7-302 )


All documents except Roll Call Votes are displayed in PDF format:
Bill Text: First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled, Chapter
Fiscal and Policy Note: Available
Number: 252910/01     Offered on: March 23, 2010   at: 11:04 a.m.     Status: Adopted
Number: 318279/01     Offered on: April 10, 2010   at: 5:20 p.m.     Status: Adopted
Committee Votes :
Judicial Proceedings
Roll Call Votes (Legislative dates are shown):
March 22, 2010: Third Reading Passed (140-0)
April 8, 2010: Third Reading Passed (138-3)
April 7, 2010: Third Reading Passed (46-0)