2010 Regular Session


File Code: Vehicle Laws - Miscellaneous Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 281
Sponsored By:
The Speaker (By Request - Administration) and Delegates Rosenberg, Hixson, Doory, Cardin, Bartlett, Frick, Kaiser, Ross, F. Turner, Beidle, Bobo, Bronrott, Carr, DeBoy, Haddaway, Hecht, Levy, Love, Malone, Manno, Mathias, Niemann, Reznik, Shewell, Stein, Gilchrist, Ivey, Rice, Murphy, Howard, Barve, Walker, Olszewski, and Stukes
Motor Vehicle Excise Tax - Tax Credit For Electric Vehicles


Allowing a tax credit against the motor vehicle excise tax for qualified plug-in electric drive vehicles; repealing an obsolete tax credit against the motor vehicle excise tax for qualified hybrid vehicles and electric vehicles; providing for the transfer of specified money from the Strategic Energy Investment Fund to the Transportation Trust Fund in specified fiscal years to offset a reduction in revenues from the vehicle excise tax credit for qualified plug-in electric drive vehicles; etc.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

Legislative date is used to record history occurring in the Chambers otherwise Calendar date is used.
House Action
First Reading Ways and Means
Hearing 3/2 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Ways and Means
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed (140-0)
House Concur - Senate Amendments
Third Reading Passed (139-0)
Passed Enrolled
Senate Action
First Reading Budget and Taxation
Hearing 3/31 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Budget and Taxation
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed with Amendments (46-0)
Action after passage in House and Senate
Approved by the Governor
- Chapter 490

Sponsored by:

Speaker, The
Delegate Joseph R. Bartlett, District 4A
Delegate Kumar P. Barve, District 17
Delegate Pamela Beidle, District 32
Delegate Elizabeth Bobo, District 12B
Delegate William A. Bronrott, District 16
Delegate Jon S. Cardin, District 11
Delegate Alfred C. Carr, Jr., District 18
Delegate Steven J. DeBoy, Sr., District 12A
Delegate Ann Marie Doory, District 43
Delegate C. William Frick, District 16
Delegate Jim Gilchrist, District 17
Delegate Jeannie Haddaway, District 37B
Delegate Sue Hecht, District 3A
Delegate Sheila E. Hixson, District 20
Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate Jolene Ivey, District 47
Delegate Anne R. Kaiser, District 14
Delegate Murray D. Levy, District 28
Delegate Mary Ann E. Love, District 32
Delegate James E. Malone, Jr., District 12A
Delegate Roger P. Manno, District 19
Delegate James N. Mathias, Jr., District 38B
Delegate Peter Murphy, District 28
Delegate Doyle L. Niemann, District 47
Delegate John A. Olszewski, Jr., District 6
Delegate Kirill Reznik, District 39
Delegate Craig L. Rice, District 15
Delegate Samuel I. Rosenberg, District 41
Delegate Justin D. Ross, District 22
Delegate Tanya T. Shewell, District 5A
Delegate Dana Stein, District 11
Delegate Melvin L. Stukes, District 44
Delegate Frank S. Turner, District 13
Delegate Jay Walker, District 26

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Budgets -see also- Capital Budgets
Energy Matters -see also- Alt Energy Res; Fuel; Power Plants
Excise Tax
Motor Vehicles -see also- Aband Veh; Ambulances; Buses; etc.
Motor Vehicle Administration
Revenue and Taxes -see also- Dev Fees &Taxes; specific tax
Tax Credits -see also- Circuit Breaker
Transportation -see also- Aircraft; Airports; Boats; etc

Bill affects the following Statutes:

( 13-815 , 13-815 )


All documents except Roll Call Votes are displayed in PDF format:
Bill Text: First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled, Chapter
Fiscal and Policy Note: Available
Number: 995765/01     Offered on: March 23, 2010   at: 11:10 a.m.     Status: Adopted
Number: 189835/01     Offered on: April 8, 2010   at: 11:58 a.m.     Status: Adopted
Committee Votes :
Ways and Means
Budget and Taxation
Roll Call Votes (Legislative dates are shown):
March 22, 2010: Third Reading Passed (140-0)
April 3, 2010: Third Reading Passed (139-0)
April 5, 2010: Third Reading Passed (46-0)