2010 Regular Session


File Code: State Government - General Assembly Crossfiled with: HOUSE BILL 344
Sponsored By:
Senators King, Harrington, Lenett, Brochin, Conway, Currie, DeGrange, Della, Exum, Forehand, Garagiola, Gladden, Glassman, Jones, Kasemeyer, Kittleman, Klausmeier, Kramer, Madaleno, McFadden, Middleton, Munson, Muse, Peters, Pinsky, Pugh, Raskin, Robey, Rosapepe, Stone, and Zirkin
Maryland Open Government Act


Requiring that individuals be allowed to sign up on the General Assembly website during a specified time period to present testimony on a bill; requiring specified information about bills to be posted on the General Assembly website; requiring bill hearings to be broadcast on the General Assembly website under specified circumstances; requiring a meeting of the Board of Public Works to be broadcast on the Board's website under specified circumstances; requiring specified broadcasts of Board meetings to be archived; etc.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

Legislative date is used to record history occurring in the Chambers otherwise Calendar date is used.
Senate Action
First Reading Senate Rules
Hearing 3/9 after Session
House Action
No Action

Sponsored by:

Senator Nancy J. King, District 39
Senator James Brochin, District 42
Senator Joan Carter Conway, District 43
Senator Ulysses Currie, District 25
Senator James E. DeGrange, Sr., District 32
Senator George W. Della, Jr., District 46
Senator Nathaniel Exum, District 24
Senator Jennie M. Forehand, District 17
Senator Rob Garagiola, District 15
Senator Lisa A. Gladden, District 41
Senator Barry Glassman, District 35
Senator David C. Harrington, District 47
Senator Verna L. Jones, District 44
Senator Edward J. Kasemeyer, District 12
Senator Allan H. Kittleman, District 9
Senator Katherine Klausmeier, District 8
Senator Rona E. Kramer, District 14
Senator Mike Lenett, District 19
Senator Richard S. Madaleno, Jr., District 18
Senator Nathaniel J. McFadden, District 45
Senator Thomas M. Middleton, District 28
Senator Donald F. Munson, District 2
Senator C. Anthony Muse, District 26
Senator Douglas J. J. Peters, District 23
Senator Paul G. Pinsky, District 22
Senator Catherine E. Pugh, District 40
Senator Jamie Raskin, District 20
Senator James N. Robey, District 13
Senator Jim Rosapepe, District 21
Senator Norman R. Stone, Jr., District 6
Senator Bobby A. Zirkin, District 11

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Committees and Commissions -see also- Political Committees
Electronic Government
Fees -see also- Attys` Fees; Devt Fees & Taxes; Reimb Rates.
General Assembly -see also- AELR Cmte; Leg Policy Committee.
Legislation -see also- Corrective Leg; Curative Leg
Public Information
Public Works, Board of
Registration -see also- Motor Vehicle Registration
Voting -see also- Ballots; Elections

Bill affects the following Statutes:

State Finance and Procurement
( 10-601 , 10-602 )
State Government
( 2-1506 , 2-1506 , 2-1506.1 , 2-1506.2 , 2-1804 , 15-703 , 15-703 )


All documents except Roll Call Votes are displayed in PDF format:
Bill Text: First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal and Policy Note: Available
Amendments: None offered