2010 Regular Session


File Code: Vehicle Laws - Drunk Driving Prior Year Introduction As: HB 1217/09 - JUD Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 564
Sponsored By:
Delegates Kramer, Ali, Barkley, Beidle, Benson, Bronrott, G. Clagett, Dumais, Eckardt, Elmore, Feldman, Frank, Frick, Frush, Gaines, Gilchrist, Guzzone, Hecht, Heller, Holmes, Hubbard, Ivey, Kaiser, Krebs, Kullen, Lee, Levi, Manno, McComas, McConkey, Montgomery, Morhaim, Pena-Melnyk, Reznik, Rice, Riley, Rosenberg, Ross, Schuh, Shank, Shewell, Sophocleus, and Stein
Drunk Driving Elimination Act


Altering the Motor Vehicle Administration's authority to establish an Ignition Interlock System Program to require the Administration to establish the Program; requiring rather than authorizing the Administration to establish a protocol for the Program by specified regulations; altering the circumstances under which individuals may participate; requiring the Administration to require an individual convicted of, or granted probation for, specified alcohol-related driving offenses to participate in the Program; etc.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

Legislative date is used to record history occurring in the Chambers otherwise Calendar date is used.
House Action
First Reading Judiciary
Hearing 3/3 at 1:00 p.m.
Senate Action
No Action

Sponsored by:

Delegate Benjamin F. Kramer, District 19
Delegate Saqib Ali, District 39
Delegate Charles Barkley, District 39
Delegate Pamela Beidle, District 32
Delegate Joanne C. Benson, District 24
Delegate William A. Bronrott, District 16
Delegate Galen R. Clagett, District 3A
Delegate Kathleen M. Dumais, District 15
Delegate Adelaide C. Eckardt, District 37B
Delegate D. Page Elmore, District 38A
Delegate Brian J. Feldman, District 15
Delegate William J. Frank, District 42
Delegate C. William Frick, District 16
Delegate Barbara Frush, District 21
Delegate Tawanna P. Gaines, District 22
Delegate Jim Gilchrist, District 17
Delegate Guy Guzzone, District 13
Delegate Sue Hecht, District 3A
Delegate Henry B. Heller, District 19
Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr., District 23B
Delegate James W. Hubbard, District 23A
Delegate Jolene Ivey, District 47
Delegate Anne R. Kaiser, District 14
Delegate Susan W. Krebs, District 9B
Delegate Sue Kullen, District 27B
Delegate Susan C. Lee, District 16
Delegate Gerron S. Levi, District 23A
Delegate Roger P. Manno, District 19
Delegate Susan K. McComas, District 35B
Delegate Tony McConkey, District 33A
Delegate Karen S. Montgomery, District 14
Delegate Dan K. Morhaim, District 11
Delegate Joseline A. Pena-Melnyk, District 21
Delegate Kirill Reznik, District 39
Delegate Craig L. Rice, District 15
Delegate B. Daniel Riley, District 34A
Delegate Samuel I. Rosenberg, District 41
Delegate Justin D. Ross, District 22
Delegate Steven R. Schuh, District 31
Delegate Christopher B. Shank, District 2B
Delegate Tanya T. Shewell, District 5A
Delegate Theodore Sophocleus, District 32
Delegate Dana Stein, District 11

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Drivers` Licenses
Drunk and Drugged Driving
Fees -see also- Attys` Fees; Devt Fees & Taxes; Reimb Rates.
Motor Vehicle Administration
Motor Vehicle Equipment
Penalties and Sentences -see also- Death Penalty
Rules and Regulations

Bill affects the following Statutes:

( 16-404.1 , 16-404.1 , 27-101 , 27-101 )


All documents except Roll Call Votes are displayed in PDF format:
Bill Text: First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal and Policy Note: Available
Amendments: None offered