2010 Regular Session


File Code: Economic and Community Development Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 106
Sponsored By:
The Speaker (By Request - Administration) and Delegates Busch, Hixson, Doory, Barkley, Barnes, Bobo, Bohanan, Branch, Carr, Davis, Dumais, Eckardt, Feldman, Gilchrist, Glenn, Gutierrez, Haynes, Hecht, Heller, Howard, Hucker, Ivey, Kelly, King, Kipke, Kullen, Lafferty, Levi, Malone, Manno, McIntosh, Mizeur, Montgomery, Nathan-Pulliam, Niemann, Oaks, Pena-Melnyk, Ramirez, Reznik, Rice, Rosenberg, Ross, Rudolph, Schuler, Stukes, Tarrant, Taylor, F. Turner, V. Turner, Valderrama, Vallario, Vaughn, Waldstreicher, and Walker
Labor and Employment - Job Creation and Recovery Tax Credit


Providing a credit against the State income tax for qualified employers employing specified individuals in qualified positions; providing for certification by the Secretary of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation of qualified employers eligible for the credit and the maximum credit for which a qualified employer is eligible; limiting the credit to $250,000 for each qualified employer; limiting the aggregate credit that may be approved by the Secretary to $20,000,000, to be allocated on a first-come, first-served basis; etc.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

Legislative date is used to record history occurring in the Chambers otherwise Calendar date is used.
House Action
First Reading Ways and Means
Hearing 2/4 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Ways and Means
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Special Order 3/17 (Delegate McDonough) Adopted
Floor Amendment (Delegate McDonough)
Motion vote previous question (Delegate Cane) Adopted
Floor Amendment (Delegate McDonough) Rejected (51-89)
Floor Amendment (Delegate Shank) Rejected (40-97)
Floor Amendment (Delegate Barkley) Rejected
Floor Amendment (Delegate O'Donnell) Rejected (46-91)
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed (132-5)
Senate Action
First Reading Budget and Taxation

Sponsored by:

Speaker, The
Delegate Charles Barkley, District 39
Delegate Ben Barnes, District 21
Delegate Elizabeth Bobo, District 12B
Delegate John L. Bohanan, Jr., District 29B
Delegate Talmadge Branch, District 45
Delegate Michael E. Busch, District 30
Delegate Alfred C. Carr, Jr., District 18
Delegate Dereck E. Davis, District 25
Delegate Ann Marie Doory, District 43
Delegate Kathleen M. Dumais, District 15
Delegate Adelaide C. Eckardt, District 37B
Delegate Brian J. Feldman, District 15
Delegate Jim Gilchrist, District 17
Delegate Cheryl D. Glenn, District 45
Delegate Ana Sol Gutierrez, District 18
Delegate Keith E. Haynes, District 44
Delegate Sue Hecht, District 3A
Delegate Henry B. Heller, District 19
Delegate Sheila E. Hixson, District 20
Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate Tom Hucker, District 20
Delegate Jolene Ivey, District 47
Delegate Kevin Kelly, District 1B
Delegate James J. King, District 33A
Delegate Nicholaus R. Kipke, District 31
Delegate Sue Kullen, District 27B
Delegate Stephen W. Lafferty, District 42
Delegate Gerron S. Levi, District 23A
Delegate James E. Malone, Jr., District 12A
Delegate Roger P. Manno, District 19
Delegate Maggie McIntosh, District 43
Delegate Heather R. Mizeur, District 20
Delegate Karen S. Montgomery, District 14
Delegate Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, District 10
Delegate Doyle L. Niemann, District 47
Delegate Nathaniel T. Oaks, District 41
Delegate Joseline A. Pena-Melnyk, District 21
Delegate Victor R. Ramirez, District 47
Delegate Kirill Reznik, District 39
Delegate Craig L. Rice, District 15
Delegate Samuel I. Rosenberg, District 41
Delegate Justin D. Ross, District 22
Delegate David D. Rudolph, District 34B
Delegate Todd Schuler, District 8
Delegate Melvin L. Stukes, District 44
Delegate Shawn Z. Tarrant, District 40
Delegate Herman L. Taylor, Jr., District 14
Delegate Frank S. Turner, District 13
Delegate Veronica Turner, District 26
Delegate Kriselda Valderrama, District 26
Delegate Joseph F. Vallario, Jr., District 27A
Delegate Michael L. Vaughn, District 24
Delegate Jeff Waldstreicher, District 18
Delegate Jay Walker, District 26

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Business and Economic Development, Department of
Income Tax
Labor, Licensing, and Regulation, Department of
Revenue and Taxes -see also- Dev Fees &Taxes; specific tax
Rules and Regulations
Tax Credits -see also- Circuit Breaker
Work, Labor and Employment -see also- Col Barg; Holiday; etc

Bill affects the following Statutes:

Labor and Employment
( 11-1101 , 11-1102 , 11-1103 , 11-1104 , 11-1105 , 11-1106 , 11-1107 )
Tax - General
( 10-728 )


All documents except Roll Call Votes are displayed in PDF format:
Bill Text: First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal and Policy Note: Available
Number: 355869/01     Offered on: March 16, 2010   at: 11:26 a.m.     Status: Adopted
Number: 413923/02     Offered on: March 17, 2010   at: 11:17 a.m.     Status: Rejected
Number: 643221/01     Offered on: March 17, 2010   at: 11:26 a.m.     Status: Rejected
Number: 723123/02     Offered on: March 17, 2010   at: 11:22 a.m.     Status: Rejected
Number: 803729/02     Offered on: March 17, 2010   at: 10:59 a.m.     Status: Rejected
Committee Votes :
Ways and Means
Roll Call Votes (Legislative dates are shown):
March 17, 2010: Floor Amendment (McDonough) Rejected (51-89)
March 17, 2010: Floor Amendment (Shank) {413923/2 Rejected (40-97)
March 17, 2010: Floor Amendment (ODonnell) {643221/1 Rejected (46-91)
March 19, 2010: Third Reading Passed (132-5)