2009 Regular Session


File Code: Elections
Sponsored By:
Senators Dyson, Lenett, Conway, Currie, DeGrange, Exum, Forehand, Garagiola, Gladden, Harrington, Jones, Kasemeyer, Kelley, King, Klausmeier, Madaleno, McFadden, Middleton, Miller, Muse, Peters, Pinsky, Pugh, Raskin, Robey, Stone, and Zirkin
Election Law - Implementation of Early Voting and Polling Places


Establishing a process to allow voters in the State to vote in elections at early voting polling places; authorizing a voter to vote by provisional ballot at any polling place in the State on election day; requiring each county to have a specified number of early voting polling places; requiring the State Board of Elections, in collaboration with the local board of elections in a county, to designate the early voting polling places in that county; etc.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

Legislative date is used to record history occurring in the Chambers otherwise Calendar date is used.
Senate Action
First Reading Education Health and Environmental Affairs
Hearing 2/26 at 1:00 p.m.
Hearing cancelled
Hearing 3/12 at 1:00 p.m.
House Action
No Action

Sponsored by:

Senator Roy P. Dyson, District 29
Senator Joan Carter Conway, District 43
Senator Ulysses Currie, District 25
Senator James E. DeGrange, Sr., District 32
Senator Nathaniel Exum, District 24
Senator Jennie M. Forehand, District 17
Senator Rob Garagiola, District 15
Senator Lisa A. Gladden, District 41
Senator David C. Harrington, District 47
Senator Verna L. Jones, District 44
Senator Edward J. Kasemeyer, District 12
Senator Delores G. Kelley, District 10
Senator Nancy J. King, District 39
Senator Katherine Klausmeier, District 8
Senator Mike Lenett, District 19
Senator Richard S. Madaleno, Jr., District 18
Senator Nathaniel J. McFadden, District 45
Senator Thomas M. Middleton, District 28
Senator Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., District 27
Senator C. Anthony Muse, District 26
Senator Douglas J. J. Peters, District 23
Senator Paul G. Pinsky, District 22
Senator Catherine E. Pugh, District 40
Senator Jamie Raskin, District 20
Senator James N. Robey, District 13
Senator Norman R. Stone, Jr., District 6
Senator Bobby A. Zirkin, District 11

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Counties -see also- Chartered Counties; Code Counties
Elections -see also- Ballots; Camp Financ; Pol Cands; Voting
Elections Supervisors
Elections, State Board of
Local Government Mandates
News Media
Public Information
Rules and Regulations
Salaries -see also- Overtime; Reimbursement Rates
Voting -see also- Ballots; Elections

Bill affects the following Statutes:

Election Law
( 10-101 , 10-203 , 10-205 , 10-301.1 )


Bill Text (Displayed in PDF Format): First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal and Policy Note (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Amendments: None offered