2009 Regular Session


File Code: Commercial Law - Consumer Protection
Sponsored By:
Senators King, Astle, Brinkley, Colburn, Conway, Currie, DeGrange, Della, Exum, Forehand, Garagiola, Gladden, Glassman, Greenip, Haines, Harrington, Harris, Jacobs, Jones, Kelley, Kittleman, Klausmeier, Kramer, Lenett, Madaleno, McFadden, Middleton, Miller, Munson, Muse, Peters, Pinsky, Pugh, Raskin, Robey, Rosapepe, Stoltzfus, Stone, and Zirkin
Online Child Safety Act of 2009


Promoting online child safety through the dissemination of specified parental controls; requiring specified Internet access providers to make parental controls available to subscribers in the State; providing for the qualifications of the parental controls; authorizing an Internet access provider to make parental controls available in specified manners; providing that a violation of the Act is an unfair or deceptive trade practice; etc.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

Legislative date is used to record history occurring in the Chambers otherwise Calendar date is used.
Senate Action
First Reading Finance
Hearing 3/11 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Finance
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed (47-0)
Returned Passed
House Action
First Reading Economic Matters
Hearing 4/2 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable Report by Economic Matters
Favorable Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed
Third Reading Passed (136-0)
Action after passage in Senate and House
Approved by the Governor
- Chapter 557

Sponsored by:

Senator Nancy J. King, District 39
Senator John C. Astle, District 30
Senator David R. Brinkley, District 4
Senator Richard F. Colburn, District 37
Senator Joan Carter Conway, District 43
Senator Ulysses Currie, District 25
Senator James E. DeGrange, Sr., District 32
Senator George W. Della, Jr., District 46
Senator Nathaniel Exum, District 24
Senator Jennie M. Forehand, District 17
Senator Rob Garagiola, District 15
Senator Lisa A. Gladden, District 41
Senator Barry Glassman, District 35
Senator Janet Greenip, District 33
Senator Larry E. Haines, District 5
Senator David C. Harrington, District 47
Senator Andrew P. Harris, District 7
Senator Nancy Jacobs, District 34
Senator Verna L. Jones, District 44
Senator Delores G. Kelley, District 10
Senator Allan H. Kittleman, District 9
Senator Katherine Klausmeier, District 8
Senator Rona E. Kramer, District 14
Senator Mike Lenett, District 19
Senator Richard S. Madaleno, Jr., District 18
Senator Nathaniel J. McFadden, District 45
Senator Thomas M. Middleton, District 28
Senator Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., District 27
Senator Donald F. Munson, District 2
Senator C. Anthony Muse, District 26
Senator Douglas J. J. Peters, District 23
Senator Paul G. Pinsky, District 22
Senator Catherine E. Pugh, District 40
Senator Jamie Raskin, District 20
Senator James N. Robey, District 13
Senator Jim Rosapepe, District 21
Senator J. Lowell Stoltzfus, District 38
Senator Norman R. Stone, Jr., District 6
Senator Bobby A. Zirkin, District 11

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Computers -see also- Electronic Commerce; Electronic Govmnt.
Consumer Protection -see also- Unfair Trade Practices
Education, Department of
Minors -see also- Age of Majority; Youth
Safety -see also- Occupational Safety
Telecommunications -see also- Telephones
Unfair Trade Practices

Bill affects the following Statutes:

Commercial Law
( 13-301 , 13-301 , 14-3701 , 14-3702 , 14-3703 , 14-3704 , 14-3705 , 14-3706 )


Bill Text (Displayed in PDF Format): First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled, Chapter
Fiscal and Policy Note (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Attorney General Letter (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Amendments (Displayed in PDF Format):
Number: 987678/01     Offered on: March 24, 2009   at: 12:36 p.m.     Status: Adopted
Roll Call Votes (Legislative dates are shown):
March 26, 2009: Third Reading Passed (47-0)
April 3, 2009: Third Reading Passed (136-0)