2009 Regular Session


File Code: Natural Resources - Generally Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 240
Sponsored By:
Delegates Sossi, Ali, Aumann, Beidle, Bobo, Cane, Carr, V. Clagett, Dwyer, Eckardt, Elliott, Frank, Frush, George, Glenn, Haddaway, Healey, Holmes, Hucker, Kipke, Lafferty, Malone, McComas, McIntosh, Minnick, Norman, O'Donnell, Serafini, Shewell, Smigiel, Stein, Stull, Walkup, Weir, and Wood
Natural Resources - Expanded Use of Waterway Improvement Fund


Authorizing grants from the Waterway Improvement Fund to be used for the purchase and installation of best management practices for implementation at public or private marine facilities for the designation or renewal of a marina as a Maryland Clean Marina or Clean Marina partner; prohibiting the amount of grants for the purchase and installation of best management practices from exceeding 50% of the cost of purchasing and installing each best management practice; etc.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

Legislative date is used to record history occurring in the Chambers otherwise Calendar date is used.
House Action
First Reading Environmental Matters
Hearing 2/25 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable Report by Environmental Matters
Favorable Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed
Third Reading Passed (134-1)
Senate Action
First Reading Education Health and Environmental Affairs
Unfavorable Report by Education Health and Environmental Affairs

Sponsored by:

Delegate Richard A. Sossi, District 36
Delegate Saqib Ali, District 39
Delegate Susan L. M. Aumann, District 42
Delegate Pamela Beidle, District 32
Delegate Elizabeth Bobo, District 12B
Delegate Rudolph C. Cane, District 37A
Delegate Alfred C. Carr, Jr., District 18
Delegate Virginia P. Clagett, District 30
Delegate Don H. Dwyer, Jr., District 31
Delegate Adelaide C. Eckardt, District 37B
Delegate Donald B. Elliott, District 4B
Delegate William J. Frank, District 42
Delegate Barbara Frush, District 21
Delegate Ron George, District 30
Delegate Cheryl D. Glenn, District 45
Delegate Jeannie Haddaway, District 37B
Delegate Anne Healey, District 22
Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr., District 23B
Delegate Tom Hucker, District 20
Delegate Nicholaus R. Kipke, District 31
Delegate Stephen W. Lafferty, District 42
Delegate James E. Malone, Jr., District 12A
Delegate Susan K. McComas, District 35B
Delegate Maggie McIntosh, District 43
Delegate Joseph J. Minnick, District 6
Delegate H. Wayne Norman, District 35A
Delegate Anthony J. O'Donnell, District 29C
Delegate Andrew A. Serafini, District 2A
Delegate Tanya T. Shewell, District 5A
Delegate Michael D. Smigiel, Sr., District 36
Delegate Dana Stein, District 11
Delegate Paul S. Stull, District 4A
Delegate Mary Roe Walkup, District 36
Delegate Michael H. Weir, Jr., District 6
Delegate John F. Wood, Jr., District 29A

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Environmental Matters -see also- Conserv; Nat Resrce; Pollut
Licenses -see also- Alcoholic Bev Lic; Drivers` Licenses
Marinas -see also- Piers and Docks
Natural Resources, Department of
Waterway Improvement Fund

Bill affects the following Statutes:

Natural Resources
( 8-707 , 8-708 , 8-709 )


Bill Text (Displayed in PDF Format): First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal and Policy Note (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Amendments: None offered
Roll Call Vote (Legislative date is shown):
March 20, 2009: Third Reading Passed (134-1)