2009 Regular Session


File Code: Public Safety Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 303
Sponsored By:
The Speaker (By Request - Administration) and Delegates Kramer, Ali, Barkley, Barnes, Bobo, Bronrott, Conaway, Dumais, Dwyer, Frank, Heller, Hucker, Jennings, Kaiser, Kelly, Lee, Levi, Manno, McComas, McConkey, McDonough, Miller, Niemann, Ramirez, Reznik, Rice, Rosenberg, Rudolph, Schuler, Shewell, Simmons, Smigiel, Sophocleus, Taylor, Valderrama, Waldstreicher, Aumann, Bartlett, Beidle, Boteler, Carr, DeBoy, George, Glenn, Hecht, Jameson, Kach, Krebs, Levy, Love, Minnick, Nathan-Pulliam, Norman, Riley, Robinson, Serafini, Shank, Stocksdale, Stull, F. Turner, Walkup, and Weir
Silver Alert Program - Establishment


Requiring the Department of State Police to establish a Silver Alert Program to disseminate information to assist in locating specified missing persons who suffer specified impairments; requiring the Department to adopt guidelines and develop procedures for issuing a Silver Alert for a specified missing person; requiring the Department to provide training to local law enforcement agencies on the guidelines and procedures to be used to handle a report of a specified missing person; etc.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

Legislative date is used to record history occurring in the Chambers otherwise Calendar date is used.
House Action
First Reading Judiciary
Hearing 2/24 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Judiciary
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed (132-0)
Returned Passed
Senate Action
First Reading Judicial Proceedings
Favorable Report by Judicial Proceedings
Favorable Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed
Third Reading Passed (47-0)
Action after passage in House and Senate
Approved by the Governor
- Chapter 504

Sponsored by:

Speaker, The
Delegate Saqib Ali, District 39
Delegate Susan L. M. Aumann, District 42
Delegate Charles Barkley, District 39
Delegate Ben Barnes, District 21
Delegate Joseph R. Bartlett, District 4A
Delegate Pamela Beidle, District 32
Delegate Elizabeth Bobo, District 12B
Delegate Joseph C. Boteler, III, District 8
Delegate William A. Bronrott, District 16
Delegate Alfred C. Carr, Jr., District 18
Delegate Frank M. Conaway, Jr., District 40
Delegate Steven J. DeBoy, Sr., District 12A
Delegate Kathleen M. Dumais, District 15
Delegate Don H. Dwyer, Jr., District 31
Delegate William J. Frank, District 42
Delegate Ron George, District 30
Delegate Cheryl D. Glenn, District 45
Delegate Sue Hecht, District 3A
Delegate Henry B. Heller, District 19
Delegate Tom Hucker, District 20
Delegate Sally Jameson, District 28
Delegate J. B. Jennings, District 7
Delegate Wade Kach, District 5B
Delegate Anne R. Kaiser, District 14
Delegate Kevin Kelly, District 1B
Delegate Benjamin F. Kramer, District 19
Delegate Susan W. Krebs, District 9B
Delegate Susan C. Lee, District 16
Delegate Gerron S. Levi, District 23A
Delegate Murray D. Levy, District 28
Delegate Mary Ann E. Love, District 32
Delegate Roger P. Manno, District 19
Delegate Susan K. McComas, District 35B
Delegate Tony McConkey, District 33A
Delegate Pat McDonough, District 7
Delegate Warren E. Miller, District 9A
Delegate Joseph J. Minnick, District 6
Delegate Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, District 10
Delegate Doyle L. Niemann, District 47
Delegate H. Wayne Norman, District 35A
Delegate Victor R. Ramirez, District 47
Delegate Kirill Reznik, District 39
Delegate Craig L. Rice, District 15
Delegate B. Daniel Riley, District 34A
Delegate Barbara Robinson, District 40
Delegate Samuel I. Rosenberg, District 41
Delegate David D. Rudolph, District 34B
Delegate Todd Schuler, District 8
Delegate Andrew A. Serafini, District 2A
Delegate Christopher B. Shank, District 2B
Delegate Tanya T. Shewell, District 5A
Delegate Luiz R. S. Simmons, District 17
Delegate Michael D. Smigiel, Sr., District 36
Delegate Theodore Sophocleus, District 32
Delegate Nancy R. Stocksdale, District 5A
Delegate Paul S. Stull, District 4A
Delegate Herman L. Taylor, Jr., District 14
Delegate Frank S. Turner, District 13
Delegate Kriselda Valderrama, District 26
Delegate Jeff Waldstreicher, District 18
Delegate Mary Roe Walkup, District 36
Delegate Michael H. Weir, Jr., District 6

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Disabilities -see also- Blind; Deaf; Developmental
Education, Department of
Education, State Board of
Elderly Persons
Law Enforcement -see also- State Police, Department of
Public Information
Public Schools
Safety -see also- Occupational Safety
Signs and Billboards
State Police, Department of
Television -see also- Cable Television
Volunteers -see also- Maryland Service Corps

Bill affects the following Statute:

Public Safety
( 3-604 )


Bill Text (Displayed in PDF Format): First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled, Chapter
Fiscal and Policy Note (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Amendments (Displayed in PDF Format):
Number: 702810/01     Offered on: March 17, 2009   at: 10:11 a.m.     Status: Adopted
Roll Call Votes (Legislative dates are shown):
March 19, 2009: Third Reading Passed (132-0)
April 2, 2009: Third Reading Passed (47-0)