2009 Regular Session


File Code: State Government - Personnel Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 673
Sponsored By:
Delegates Hixson, Ali, Barkley, Bobo, Bronrott, G. Clagett, Conaway, Dumais, Feldman, Gaines, Harrison, Haynes, Healey, Hubbard, Hucker, Ivey, Jones, Kirk, Kramer, Lee, Levi, Levy, Manno, McHale, Minnick, Montgomery, Proctor, Ramirez, Rice, Riley, Robinson, Taylor, Vaughn, and Waldstreicher
Fairness in Negotiations Act


Requiring specified collective bargaining agreements to provide for binding arbitration of the grievances arising under the agreements that the parties have agreed to be subject to arbitration; requiring a public school employer and an exclusive representative of specified public school employees to negotiate in a specified manner; etc.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

Legislative date is used to record history occurring in the Chambers otherwise Calendar date is used.
House Action
First Reading Ways and Means
Hearing 3/10 at 1:00 p.m.
Senate Action
No Action

Sponsored by:

Delegate Sheila E. Hixson, District 20
Delegate Saqib Ali, District 39
Delegate Charles Barkley, District 39
Delegate Elizabeth Bobo, District 12B
Delegate William A. Bronrott, District 16
Delegate Galen R. Clagett, District 3A
Delegate Frank M. Conaway, Jr., District 40
Delegate Kathleen M. Dumais, District 15
Delegate Brian J. Feldman, District 15
Delegate Tawanna P. Gaines, District 22
Delegate Hattie N. Harrison, District 45
Delegate Keith E. Haynes, District 44
Delegate Anne Healey, District 22
Delegate James W. Hubbard, District 23A
Delegate Tom Hucker, District 20
Delegate Jolene Ivey, District 47
Delegate Adrienne A. Jones, District 10
Delegate Ruth M. Kirk, District 44
Delegate Benjamin F. Kramer, District 19
Delegate Susan C. Lee, District 16
Delegate Gerron S. Levi, District 23A
Delegate Murray D. Levy, District 28
Delegate Roger P. Manno, District 19
Delegate Brian K. McHale, District 46
Delegate Joseph J. Minnick, District 6
Delegate Karen S. Montgomery, District 14
Delegate James E. Proctor, Jr., District 27A
Delegate Victor R. Ramirez, District 47
Delegate Craig L. Rice, District 15
Delegate B. Daniel Riley, District 34A
Delegate Barbara Robinson, District 40
Delegate Herman L. Taylor, Jr., District 14
Delegate Michael L. Vaughn, District 24
Delegate Jeff Waldstreicher, District 18

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Arbitration -see also- Mediation
Collective Bargaining
Education, Boards of
Education, State Board of
Mediation -see also- Arbitration
Public Employees -see also- State Employees
Public Schools
Work, Labor and Employment -see also- Col Barg; Holiday; etc

Bill affects the following Statutes:

( 6-401 , 6-408 , 6-501 , 6-510 )


Bill Text (Displayed in PDF Format): First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal and Policy Note (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Amendments: None offered