2008 Regular Session


File Code: Vehicle Laws - Licensing and Registration Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 865
Sponsored By:
Delegates Bronrott, Waldstreicher, Barve, Bromwell, Carr, Dumais, Frick, Gaines, Glenn, Hammen, Heller, Holmes, Hucker, Ivey, Kullen, Lafferty, Lee, McComas, McKee, Niemann, Ross, Shank, Shewell, Stein, Stocksdale, Stull, V. Turner, and Weldon
Vehicle Laws - Drivers' Licenses and Learners' Instructional Permits - Minors


Altering the minimum ages required for eligibility for a learner's instructional permit, a provisional license, and a driver's license; altering the driving hour restriction to be from 11 p.m. to 5 a.m. the following day for a holder of a provisional driver's license who is a minor, with exceptions; and extending to 9 months the period of time from the date a provisional driver's license is issued to a minor during which the minor is prohibited from transporting specified individuals, except under specified circumstances.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

Legislative date is used to record history occuring in the Chambers otherwise Calendar date is used.
House Action
First Reading Environmental Matters
Hearing 3/11 at 1:00 p.m.
Referred to interim study by Environmental Matters
Senate Action
No Action

Sponsored by:

Delegate William A. Bronrott, District 16
Delegate Kumar P. Barve, District 17
Delegate Eric M. Bromwell, District 8
Delegate Alfred C. Carr, Jr., District 18
Delegate Kathleen M. Dumais, District 15
Delegate C. William Frick, District 16
Delegate Tawanna P. Gaines, District 22
Delegate Cheryl D. Glenn, District 45
Delegate Peter A. Hammen, District 46
Delegate Henry B. Heller, District 19
Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr., District 23B
Delegate Tom Hucker, District 20
Delegate Jolene Ivey, District 47
Delegate Sue Kullen, District 27B
Delegate Stephen W. Lafferty, District 42
Delegate Susan C. Lee, District 16
Delegate Susan K. McComas, District 35B
Delegate Robert A. McKee, District 2A
Delegate Doyle L. Niemann, District 47
Delegate Justin D. Ross, District 22
Delegate Christopher B. Shank, District 2B
Delegate Tanya T. Shewell, District 5A
Delegate Dana Stein, District 11
Delegate Nancy R. Stocksdale, District 5A
Delegate Paul S. Stull, District 4A
Delegate Veronica Turner, District 26
Delegate Jeff Waldstreicher, District 18
Delegate Richard B. Weldon, Jr., District 3B

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Drivers` Licenses
Minors -see also- Age of Majority; Youth
Transportation-see also- Aircraft; Airports; Boats; etc

Bill affects the following Statutes:

( 16-103 , 16-113 , 21-1123 )


Bill Text (Displayed in PDF Format): First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal and Policy Note (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Amendments: None offered