2008 Regular Session


File Code: Primary and Secondary Education Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 850
Sponsored By:
Delegates Howard, Ali, Barkley, Barnes, Benson, Braveboy, Cane, G. Clagett, Costa, DeBoy, Dumais, Feldman, Frush, Gaines, Glenn, Griffith, Gutierrez, Guzzone, Healey, Heller, Holmes, Hubbard, Hucker, Ivey, Kaiser, Kirk, Lafferty, Levi, Malone, McHale, Murphy, Nathan-Pulliam, Olszewski, Pena-Melnyk, Proctor, Riley, Ross, Schuler, Stein, Stukes, F. Turner, V. Turner, Valderrama, Walker, and Weldon
Education - Collective Bargaining - Public School Labor Relations Board


Establishing a Public School Labor Relations Board; providing for the appointment, membership, duties, responsibilities, and staff of the Board; authorizing the Board to adopt and enforce regulations, guidelines, and policies, as specified; permitting the Board to petition a circuit court to seek enforcement of an order of the Board; providing that a hearing and determination under the Act is a contested case; specifying requirements and procedures for the use of mediation, fact-finding, and arbitration in dispute resolution; etc.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

Legislative date is used to record history occuring in the Chambers otherwise Calendar date is used.
House Action
First Reading House Rules and Executive Nominations
Re-referred Ways and Means
Hearing 3/20 at 1:00 p.m.
Senate Action
No Action

Sponsored by:

Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate Saqib Ali, District 39
Delegate Charles Barkley, District 39
Delegate Ben Barnes, District 21
Delegate Joanne C. Benson, District 24
Delegate Aisha N. Braveboy, District 25
Delegate Rudolph C. Cane, District 37A
Delegate Galen R. Clagett, District 3A
Delegate Robert A. Costa, District 33B
Delegate Steven J. DeBoy, Sr., District 12A
Delegate Kathleen M. Dumais, District 15
Delegate Brian J. Feldman, District 15
Delegate Barbara Frush, District 21
Delegate Tawanna P. Gaines, District 22
Delegate Cheryl D. Glenn, District 45
Delegate Melony G. Griffith, District 25
Delegate Ana Sol Gutierrez, District 18
Delegate Guy Guzzone, District 13
Delegate Anne Healey, District 22
Delegate Henry B. Heller, District 19
Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr., District 23B
Delegate James W. Hubbard, District 23A
Delegate Tom Hucker, District 20
Delegate Jolene Ivey, District 47
Delegate Anne R. Kaiser, District 14
Delegate Ruth M. Kirk, District 44
Delegate Stephen W. Lafferty, District 42
Delegate Gerron S. Levi, District 23A
Delegate James E. Malone, Jr., District 12A
Delegate Brian K. McHale, District 46
Delegate Peter Murphy, District 28
Delegate Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, District 10
Delegate John A. Olszewski, Jr., District 6
Delegate Joseline A. Pena-Melnyk, District 21
Delegate James E. Proctor, Jr., District 27A
Delegate B. Daniel Riley, District 34A
Delegate Justin D. Ross, District 22
Delegate Todd Schuler, District 8
Delegate Dana Stein, District 11
Delegate Melvin L. Stukes, District 44
Delegate Frank S. Turner, District 13
Delegate Veronica Turner, District 26
Delegate Kriselda Valderrama, District 26
Delegate Jay Walker, District 26
Delegate Richard B. Weldon, Jr., District 3B

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Appeals -see also- Judicial Review
Arbitration -see also- Mediation
Circuit Courts
Civil Actions -see also- Small Claims
Collective Bargaining
Committees and Commissions -see also- Political Committees
Education, Boards of
Elections -see also- Ballots; Camp Financ; Pol Cands; Voting
Mediation -see also- Arbitration
Public Employees -see also- State Employees
Public Schools
Rules and Regulations
Salaries -see also- Overtime; Reimbursement Rates
Work, Labor and Employment -see also- Col Barg; Holiday; etc

Bill affects the following Statutes:

( 2-205 , 6-401 , 6-405 , 6-408 , 6-501 , 6-506 , 6-510 , 6-801 , 6-802 , 6-803 , 6-804 , 6-805 , 6-806 , 6-807 )


Bill Text (Displayed in PDF Format): First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal and Policy Note (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Amendments: None offered