2008 Regular Session


File Code: Primary and Secondary Education
Sponsored By:
Delegates Hucker, Barve, Carr, Donoghue, Doory, Gilchrist, Hixson, Holmes, Howard, Jennings, Kullen, McHale, McIntosh, Myers, Ross, Sossi, Taylor, F. Turner, Valderrama, Waldstreicher, Weir, Bartlett, Elmore, Ivey, Kaiser, Rice, Serafini, and Stukes
Expanded Early Childhood Education


Expanding eligibility for publicly funded prekindergarten programs to children who meet specified criteria; requiring the State Superintendent of Schools to determine and certify to the Governor and the General Assembly the amount of funding needed for the State to fully fund the cost of including eligible children; providing that for any fiscal year the inclusion of eligible children in the publicly funded prekindergarten programs is contingent on the appropriation of sufficient funds in the State budget to pay for specified costs; etc.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

Legislative date is used to record history occuring in the Chambers otherwise Calendar date is used.
House Action
First Reading Ways and Means
Hearing 3/18 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Ways and Means
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed (140-0)
Senate Action
First Reading Senate Rules

Sponsored by:

Delegate Tom Hucker, District 20
Delegate Joseph R. Bartlett, District 4A
Delegate Kumar P. Barve, District 17
Delegate Alfred C. Carr, Jr., District 18
Delegate John P. Donoghue, District 2C
Delegate Ann Marie Doory, District 43
Delegate D. Page Elmore, District 38A
Delegate Jim Gilchrist, District 17
Delegate Sheila E. Hixson, District 20
Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr., District 23B
Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate Jolene Ivey, District 47
Delegate J. B. Jennings, District 7
Delegate Anne R. Kaiser, District 14
Delegate Sue Kullen, District 27B
Delegate Brian K. McHale, District 46
Delegate Maggie McIntosh, District 43
Delegate LeRoy E. Myers, Jr., District 1C
Delegate Craig L. Rice, District 15
Delegate Justin D. Ross, District 22
Delegate Andrew A. Serafini, District 2A
Delegate Richard A. Sossi, District 36
Delegate Melvin L. Stukes, District 44
Delegate Herman L. Taylor, Jr., District 14
Delegate Frank S. Turner, District 13
Delegate Kriselda Valderrama, District 26
Delegate Jeff Waldstreicher, District 18
Delegate Michael H. Weir, Jr., District 6

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Armed Forces -see also- Militia
Education, Boards of
Education, Department of
Education -see also- Driver Ed; Higher Ed; Special Ed; etc
Minors -see also- Age of Majority; Youth

Bill affects the following Statute:

( 7-101.1 )


Bill Text (Displayed in PDF Format): First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal and Policy Note (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Amendments (Displayed in PDF Format):
Number: 955165/01     Offered on: April 3, 2008   at: 12:04 p.m.     Status: Adopted
Roll Call Vote (Legislative date is shown):
March 29, 2008: Third Reading Passed (140-0)