2008 Regular Session


File Code: Higher Education Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 657
Sponsored By:
Delegates Rice, Holmes, Barnes, Ali, Barve, Cardin, Carr, Dumais, Feldman, Gilchrist, Gutierrez, Haddaway, Heller, Hixson, Hucker, Ivey, Jennings, Kaiser, Kramer, Krebs, Manno, Mizeur, Murphy, Olszewski, Pena-Melnyk, Ramirez, Reznik, Ross, Schuler, Tarrant, Taylor, F. Turner, Valderrama, Vaughn, Waldstreicher, and Walker
College Textbook Competition and Affordability Act of 2008


Requiring each institution of postsecondary education in the State, with an exception, to develop and implement campaigns, processes, practices, and procedures regarding content revisions, availability, and cost of textbooks and supplemental course materials; requiring specified institutions of postsecondary education to report to the Maryland Higher Education Commission regarding analysis of textbook prices, efforts to lower textbook cost for students, and other information by November 1, 2009; etc.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

Legislative date is used to record history occuring in the Chambers otherwise Calendar date is used.
House Action
First Reading Appropriations
Hearing 3/4 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Appropriations
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Floor Amendment (Delegate Holmes) Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed (139-0)
Senate Action
First Reading Senate Rules
Re-referred Education Health and Environmental Affairs

Sponsored by:

Delegate Craig L. Rice, District 15
Delegate Saqib Ali, District 39
Delegate Ben Barnes, District 21
Delegate Kumar P. Barve, District 17
Delegate Jon S. Cardin, District 11
Delegate Alfred C. Carr, Jr., District 18
Delegate Kathleen M. Dumais, District 15
Delegate Brian J. Feldman, District 15
Delegate Jim Gilchrist, District 17
Delegate Ana Sol Gutierrez, District 18
Delegate Jeannie Haddaway, District 37B
Delegate Henry B. Heller, District 19
Delegate Sheila E. Hixson, District 20
Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr., District 23B
Delegate Tom Hucker, District 20
Delegate Jolene Ivey, District 47
Delegate J. B. Jennings, District 7
Delegate Anne R. Kaiser, District 14
Delegate Benjamin F. Kramer, District 19
Delegate Susan W. Krebs, District 9B
Delegate Roger P. Manno, District 19
Delegate Heather R. Mizeur, District 20
Delegate Peter Murphy, District 28
Delegate John A. Olszewski, Jr., District 6
Delegate Joseline A. Pena-Melnyk, District 21
Delegate Victor R. Ramirez, District 47
Delegate Kirill Reznik, District 39
Delegate Justin D. Ross, District 22
Delegate Todd Schuler, District 8
Delegate Shawn Z. Tarrant, District 40
Delegate Herman L. Taylor, Jr., District 14
Delegate Frank S. Turner, District 13
Delegate Kriselda Valderrama, District 26
Delegate Michael L. Vaughn, District 24
Delegate Jeff Waldstreicher, District 18
Delegate Jay Walker, District 26

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Commerce and Business -see also- Dealers; Traders; etc
Community Colleges
Consumer Protection -see also- Unfair Trade Practices
Electronic Commerce -see also- Electronic Funds Transfer
Electronic Government
Higher Education Commission
Leases and Rent
Prices -see also- Consumer Price Index
Public Information
Revenue and Taxes -see also- Dev Fees &Taxes; specific tax
State Universities and Colleges

Bill affects the following Statute:

( 15-111 )


Bill Text (Displayed in PDF Format): First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal and Policy Note (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Amendments (Displayed in PDF Format):
Number: 254068/02     Offered on: April 7, 2008   at: 3:33 p.m.     Status: Adopted
Number: 513929/01     Offered on: April 7, 2008   at: 3:35 p.m.     Status: Adopted
Roll Call Vote (Legislative date is shown):
April 4, 2008: Third Reading Passed (139-0)