2008 Regular Session


File Code: Elections Prior Year Introduction As: SB 546/07 Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 593
Sponsored By:
Delegates Cardin, Ali, Barkley, Barnes, Benson, Bobo, Bronrott, Carr, V. Clagett, Doory, Feldman, Frush, Gutierrez, Healey, Heller, Hixson, Holmes, Howard, Hucker, Jones, Kaiser, Krysiak, Lee, Love, Manno, McIntosh, Mizeur, Montgomery, Nathan-Pulliam, Niemann, Pendergrass, Proctor, Rosenberg, Schuler, Stein, Taylor, F. Turner, V. Turner, and Waldstreicher
Election Law - Public Campaign Financing Act for Candidates for the General Assembly


Establishing a system of public financing of campaigns for candidates for the General Assembly; establishing an Election Financing Commission; creating the Public Election Fund; requiring the Comptroller to distribute specified proceeds to the Public Election Fund; specifying procedures, requirements, and conditions participating candidates must meet to receive a distribution from the Fund; requiring specified campaign expenditure limits; etc.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

Legislative date is used to record history occuring in the Chambers otherwise Calendar date is used.
House Action
First Reading Ways and Means
Hearing 2/26 at 1:00 p.m.
Senate Action
No Action

Sponsored by:

Delegate Jon S. Cardin, District 11
Delegate Saqib Ali, District 39
Delegate Charles Barkley, District 39
Delegate Ben Barnes, District 21
Delegate Joanne C. Benson, District 24
Delegate Elizabeth Bobo, District 12B
Delegate William A. Bronrott, District 16
Delegate Alfred C. Carr, Jr., District 18
Delegate Virginia P. Clagett, District 30
Delegate Ann Marie Doory, District 43
Delegate Brian J. Feldman, District 15
Delegate Barbara Frush, District 21
Delegate Ana Sol Gutierrez, District 18
Delegate Anne Healey, District 22
Delegate Henry B. Heller, District 19
Delegate Sheila E. Hixson, District 20
Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr., District 23B
Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate Tom Hucker, District 20
Delegate Adrienne A. Jones, District 10
Delegate Anne R. Kaiser, District 14
Delegate Carolyn J. Krysiak, District 46
Delegate Susan C. Lee, District 16
Delegate Mary Ann E. Love, District 32
Delegate Roger P. Manno, District 19
Delegate Maggie McIntosh, District 43
Delegate Heather R. Mizeur, District 20
Delegate Karen S. Montgomery, District 14
Delegate Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, District 10
Delegate Doyle L. Niemann, District 47
Delegate Shane E. Pendergrass, District 13
Delegate James E. Proctor, Jr., District 27A
Delegate Samuel I. Rosenberg, District 41
Delegate Todd Schuler, District 8
Delegate Dana Stein, District 11
Delegate Herman L. Taylor, Jr., District 14
Delegate Frank S. Turner, District 13
Delegate Veronica Turner, District 26
Delegate Jeff Waldstreicher, District 18

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Abandoned Property
Auditors and Audits
Campaign Financing
Civil Actions -see also- Small Claims
Committees and Commissions -see also- Political Committees
Crimes and Punishments -see also- Penalties; Sentences; etc.
Elections -see also- Ballots; Camp Financ; Pol Cands; Voting
Electronic Government
General Assembly -see also- AELR Cmte; Leg Policy Committee.
Income Tax
Judicial Review -see also- Appeals
Political Candidates
Political Committees
Political Parties
Public Information
Public Officials -see also- Atty Gen; Compt; Coun Admin; etc
Revenue and Taxes -see also- Dev Fees &Taxes; specific tax
Rules and Regulations

Bill affects the following Statutes:

Commercial Law
( 17-317 )
Election Law
( 13-235 , 15.5-101 , 15.5-102 , 15.5-103 , 15.5-104 , 15.5-105 , 15.5-106 , 15.5-107 , 15.5-108 , 15.5-109 , 15.5-110 , 15.5-111 , 15.5-112 , 15.5-113 , 15.5-114 , 15.5-115 , 15.5-116 , 15.5-117 , 15.5-118 , 15.5-119 , 15.5-120 , 15.5-121 )


Bill Text (Displayed in PDF Format): First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal and Policy Note (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Amendments: None offered