2008 Regular Session


EMERGENCY BILL File Code: Utility Regulation Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 417
Sponsored By:
Delegates Kelly, Bartlett, Beidle, Beitzel, Conaway, DeBoy, Dwyer, Eckardt, Elliott, Elmore, Frank, George, Jennings, Kipke, McComas, McDonough, McKee, Myers, Norman, O'Donnell, Riley, Schuh, Shank, Smigiel, Sophocleus, Sossi, Stull, Weldon, Hecht, Manno, Mathias, and Taylor
Public Service Commission - Energy Efficiency and Conservation Programs and Services - Customer Notification and Report


Requiring electric companies and gas companies at least annually to provide affected customers with notice of specified energy efficiency and conservation charges and benefits by publication on the company's website and by inclusion with billing information; requiring the Public Service Commission to report to the General Assembly by February 1, 2009, and every 2 years thereafter on the status of programs and services to encourage and promote energy efficiency and conservation; etc.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

Legislative date is used to record history occuring in the Chambers otherwise Calendar date is used.
House Action
First Reading Economic Matters
Hearing 2/19 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Economic Matters
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed (138-1)
Returned Passed
Senate Action
First Reading Finance
Hearing 3/20 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable Report by Finance
Favorable Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed
Third Reading Passed (45-0)
Action after passage in House and Senate
Approved by the Governor
- Chapter 130

Sponsored by:

Delegate Kevin Kelly, District 1B
Delegate Joseph R. Bartlett, District 4A
Delegate Pamela Beidle, District 32
Delegate Wendell R. Beitzel, District 1A
Delegate Frank M. Conaway, Jr., District 40
Delegate Steven J. DeBoy, Sr., District 12A
Delegate Don H. Dwyer, Jr., District 31
Delegate Adelaide C. Eckardt, District 37B
Delegate Donald B. Elliott, District 4B
Delegate D. Page Elmore, District 38A
Delegate William J. Frank, District 42
Delegate Ron George, District 30
Delegate Sue Hecht, District 3A
Delegate J. B. Jennings, District 7
Delegate Nicholaus R. Kipke, District 31
Delegate Roger P. Manno, District 19
Delegate James N. Mathias, Jr., District 38B
Delegate Susan K. McComas, District 35B
Delegate Pat McDonough, District 7
Delegate Robert A. McKee, District 2A
Delegate LeRoy E. Myers, Jr., District 1C
Delegate H. Wayne Norman, Jr., District 35A
Delegate Anthony J. O'Donnell, District 29C
Delegate B. Daniel Riley, District 34A
Delegate Steven R. Schuh, District 31
Delegate Christopher B. Shank, District 2B
Delegate Michael D. Smigiel, Sr., District 36
Delegate Theodore Sophocleus, District 32
Delegate Richard A. Sossi, District 36
Delegate Paul S. Stull, District 4A
Delegate Herman L. Taylor, Jr., District 14
Delegate Richard B. Weldon, Jr., District 3B

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Conservation -see also- Soil Conservation
Consumer Protection -see also- Unfair Trade Practices
Electronic Commerce -see also- Electronic Funds Transfer
Energy Matters -see also- Fuel; Power Plants; Solar Energy
Fees -see also- Devt Fees and Taxes; Reimbursement Rates
Public Service Commission
Utilities -see also- High Voltage Lines; Telephones; Water

Bill affects the following Statute:

Public Utility Companies
( 7-211 )


Bill Text (Displayed in PDF Format): First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled, Chapter
Fiscal and Policy Note (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Amendments (Displayed in PDF Format):
Number: 243790/01     Offered on: March 11, 2008   at: 10:26 a.m.     Status: Adopted
Roll Call Votes (Legislative dates are shown):
March 13, 2008: Third Reading Passed (138-1)
March 26, 2008: Third Reading Passed (45-0)