2008 Regular Session


File Code: Environment Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 209
Sponsored By:
The Speaker (By Request - Administration) and Delegates Stein, Ali, Barve, Bobo, Bronrott, Cardin, Carr, Doory, Dumais, Haynes, Hecht, Hixson, Howard, Hucker, Lee, Manno, Mizeur, Montgomery, Morhaim, Pena-Melnyk, Rosenberg, F. Turner, Burns, Feldman, Harrison, Kirk, Krysiak, and McHale
Renewable Portfolio Standard Percentage Requirements - Acceleration


Altering the renewable energy portfolio standard by increasing the percentages of electricity sales that must be met in specified years through the accumulation of renewable energy credits from specified sources, subject to a specified limitation; redefining a specified renewable energy credit; increasing the maximum allowable alternative compliance payment, subject to a specified limitation; etc.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

Legislative date is used to record history occuring in the Chambers otherwise Calendar date is used.
House Action
First Reading Economic Matters
Hearing 2/12 at 11:00 a.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Economic Matters
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Special Order 4/2 (Delegate O'Donnell) Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed (107-34)
House Concur - Senate Amendments
Third Reading Passed (103-24)
Passed Enrolled
Senate Action
First Reading Senate Rules
Re-referred Finance
Hearing 4/5 at 11:00 a.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed with Amendments (33-13)
Action after passage in House and Senate
Approved by the Governor
- Chapter 126

Sponsored by:

Speaker, The
Delegate Saqib Ali, District 39
Delegate Kumar P. Barve, District 17
Delegate Elizabeth Bobo, District 12B
Delegate William A. Bronrott, District 16
Delegate Emmett C. Burns, Jr., District 10
Delegate Jon S. Cardin, District 11
Delegate Alfred C. Carr, Jr., District 18
Delegate Ann Marie Doory, District 43
Delegate Kathleen M. Dumais, District 15
Delegate Brian J. Feldman, District 15
Delegate Hattie N. Harrison, District 45
Delegate Keith E. Haynes, District 44
Delegate Sue Hecht, District 3A
Delegate Sheila E. Hixson, District 20
Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate Tom Hucker, District 20
Delegate Ruth M. Kirk, District 44
Delegate Carolyn J. Krysiak, District 46
Delegate Susan C. Lee, District 16
Delegate Roger P. Manno, District 19
Delegate Brian K. McHale, District 46
Delegate Heather R. Mizeur, District 20
Delegate Karen S. Montgomery, District 14
Delegate Dan K. Morhaim, District 11
Delegate Joseline A. Pena-Melnyk, District 21
Delegate Samuel I. Rosenberg, District 41
Delegate Dana Stein, District 11
Delegate Frank S. Turner, District 13

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Conservation -see also- Soil Conservation
Energy Matters -see also- Fuel; Power Plants; Solar Energy
Environmental Matters -see also- Conserv; Nat Resrce; Pollut
Fees -see also- Devt Fees and Taxes; Reimbursement Rates
Public Service Commission
Utilities -see also- High Voltage Lines; Telephones; Water

Bill affects the following Statutes:

Public Utility Companies
( 7-701 , 7-701 , 7-703 , 7-703 , 7-705 , 7-705 )


Bill Text (Displayed in PDF Format): First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled, Chapter
Fiscal and Policy Note (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Attorney General Letter (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Amendments (Displayed in PDF Format):
Number: 343195/01     Offered on: April 1, 2008   at: 10:36 a.m.     Status: Adopted
Number: 417972/01     Offered on: April 7, 2008   at: 12:34 p.m.     Status: Adopted
Roll Call Votes (Legislative dates are shown):
March 28, 2008: Third Reading Passed (107-34)
April 4, 2008: Third Reading Passed (103-24)
April 3, 2008: Third Reading Passed (33-13)