2008 Regular Session


File Code: Transportation - Generally Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 204
Sponsored By:
The Speaker (By Request - Administration) and Delegates McIntosh, Howard, Ali, Barve, Bronrott, Burns, Cardin, Conaway, Gaines, Glenn, Griffith, Guzzone, Haynes, Kirk, Lafferty, Montgomery, Oaks, Rosenberg, Sophocleus, Stukes, Vaughn, Walker, Healey, Frush, Stull, Carr, Stein, Malone, Norman, Hucker, Weir, Holmes, V. Clagett, Niemann, and Beidle
Maryland Transit Administration - Transit-Oriented Development


Establishing that the realization of specified transit-oriented development of specified property located near transit stations is a transportation purpose that is essential for the attainment of specified objectives; providing for the construction of specified provisions of the Act; declaring the intent of the General Assembly for local governments to coordinate with the Maryland Transit Administration on land-use planning elements and other critical design elements; etc.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

Legislative date is used to record history occuring in the Chambers otherwise Calendar date is used.
House Action
First Reading Environmental Matters
Hearing 2/12 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Environmental Matters
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed (128-7)
House Concur - Senate Amendments
Third Reading Passed (130-8)
Passed Enrolled
Senate Action
First Reading Finance
Hearing 3/20 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Finance
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed with Amendments (39-6)
Action after passage in House and Senate
Approved by the Governor
- Chapter 123

Sponsored by:

Speaker, The
Delegate Saqib Ali, District 39
Delegate Kumar P. Barve, District 17
Delegate Pamela Beidle, District 32
Delegate William A. Bronrott, District 16
Delegate Emmett C. Burns, Jr., District 10
Delegate Jon S. Cardin, District 11
Delegate Alfred C. Carr, Jr., District 18
Delegate Virginia P. Clagett, District 30
Delegate Frank M. Conaway, Jr., District 40
Delegate Barbara Frush, District 21
Delegate Tawanna P. Gaines, District 22
Delegate Cheryl D. Glenn, District 45
Delegate Melony G. Griffith, District 25
Delegate Guy Guzzone, District 13
Delegate Keith E. Haynes, District 44
Delegate Anne Healey, District 22
Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr., District 23B
Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate Tom Hucker, District 20
Delegate Ruth M. Kirk, District 44
Delegate Stephen W. Lafferty, District 42
Delegate James E. Malone, Jr., District 12A
Delegate Maggie McIntosh, District 43
Delegate Karen S. Montgomery, District 14
Delegate Doyle L. Niemann, District 47
Delegate H. Wayne Norman, Jr., District 35A
Delegate Nathaniel T. Oaks, District 41
Delegate Samuel I. Rosenberg, District 41
Delegate Theodore Sophocleus, District 32
Delegate Dana Stein, District 11
Delegate Melvin L. Stukes, District 44
Delegate Paul S. Stull, District 4A
Delegate Michael L. Vaughn, District 24
Delegate Jay Walker, District 26
Delegate Michael H. Weir, Jr., District 6

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Administrative Agencies -see also- Electronic Government
Counties -see also- Chartered Counties; Code Counties
Mass Transit -see also- Buses; Railroads
Zoning and Planning

Bill affects the following Statutes:

( 7-101 , 7-102 )


Bill Text (Displayed in PDF Format): First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled, Chapter
Fiscal and Policy Note (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Amendments (Displayed in PDF Format):
Number: 550515/01     Offered on: March 4, 2008   at: 10:36 a.m.     Status: Adopted
Number: 147473/01     Offered on: March 27, 2008   at: 11:09 a.m.     Status: Adopted
Roll Call Votes (Legislative dates are shown):
March 6, 2008: Third Reading Passed (128-7)
March 27, 2008: Third Reading Passed (130-8)
March 26, 2008: Third Reading Passed (39-6)