2008 Regular Session


EMERGENCY BILL File Code: Real Property Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 217
Sponsored By:
The Speaker (By Request - Administration) and Delegates Niemann, Aumann, Barkley, Barnes, Barve, Benson, Bobo, Bohanan, Braveboy, Bronrott, Burns, G. Clagett, V. Clagett, Conway, Doory, Eckardt, Gaines, George, Griffith, Gutierrez, Guzzone, Haddaway, Healey, Hecht, Heller, Holmes, Howard, Hucker, Ivey, James, Jones, Kaiser, Krysiak, Lafferty, Lee, Levi, Love, Manno, Mathias, McIntosh, Montgomery, Morhaim, Nathan-Pulliam, Pena-Melnyk, Riley, Ross, Rudolph, Shewell, Sophocleus, Stein, Stukes, Tarrant, F. Turner, V. Turner, Vaughn, Waldstreicher, Walker, and Carr
Real Property - Maryland Mortgage Fraud Protection Act


Prohibiting a person from committing mortgage fraud; authorizing the Attorney General or the Commissioner of Financial Regulation to seek an injunction to prohibit a violation of specified provisions of the Act; authorizing the Attorney General and the State's Attorney to conduct the criminal investigation and prosecution of mortgage fraud under provisions of the Act; authorizing a private right of action for a violation of provisions of the Act; imposing penalties for a violation of provisions of the Act; etc.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

Legislative date is used to record history occuring in the Chambers otherwise Calendar date is used.
House Action
First Reading Economic Matters & Environmental Matters
Hearing 2/21 at 1:00 p.m. (Economic Matters & Environmental Matters)
Favorable with Amendments Report by Economic Matters
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed (117-19)
Returned Passed
Senate Action
First Reading Judicial Proceedings
Favorable Report by Judicial Proceedings
Favorable Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed
Motion two readings same day Const/Rule 24 (Senator Frosh) Adopted
Third Reading Passed (46-1)
Action after passage in House and Senate
Approved by the Governor
- Chapter 4

Sponsored by:

Speaker, The
Delegate Susan L. M. Aumann, District 42
Delegate Charles Barkley, District 39
Delegate Ben Barnes, District 21
Delegate Kumar P. Barve, District 17
Delegate Joanne C. Benson, District 24
Delegate Elizabeth Bobo, District 12B
Delegate John L. Bohanan, Jr., District 29B
Delegate Aisha N. Braveboy, District 25
Delegate William A. Bronrott, District 16
Delegate Emmett C. Burns, Jr., District 10
Delegate Alfred C. Carr, Jr., District 18
Delegate Virginia P. Clagett, District 30
Delegate Galen R. Clagett, District 3A
Delegate Norman H. Conway, District 38B
Delegate Ann Marie Doory, District 43
Delegate Adelaide C. Eckardt, District 37B
Delegate Tawanna P. Gaines, District 22
Delegate Ron George, District 30
Delegate Melony G. Griffith, District 25
Delegate Ana Sol Gutierrez, District 18
Delegate Guy Guzzone, District 13
Delegate Jeannie Haddaway, District 37B
Delegate Anne Healey, District 22
Delegate Sue Hecht, District 3A
Delegate Henry B. Heller, District 19
Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr., District 23B
Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate Tom Hucker, District 20
Delegate Jolene Ivey, District 47
Delegate Mary-Dulany James, District 34A
Delegate Adrienne A. Jones, District 10
Delegate Anne R. Kaiser, District 14
Delegate Carolyn J. Krysiak, District 46
Delegate Stephen W. Lafferty, District 42
Delegate Susan C. Lee, District 16
Delegate Gerron S. Levi, District 23A
Delegate Mary Ann E. Love, District 32
Delegate Roger P. Manno, District 19
Delegate James N. Mathias, Jr., District 38B
Delegate Maggie McIntosh, District 43
Delegate Karen S. Montgomery, District 14
Delegate Dan K. Morhaim, District 11
Delegate Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, District 10
Delegate Doyle L. Niemann, District 47
Delegate Joseline A. Pena-Melnyk, District 21
Delegate B. Daniel Riley, District 34A
Delegate Justin D. Ross, District 22
Delegate David D. Rudolph, District 34B
Delegate Tanya T. Shewell, District 5A
Delegate Theodore Sophocleus, District 32
Delegate Dana Stein, District 11
Delegate Melvin L. Stukes, District 44
Delegate Shawn Z. Tarrant, District 40
Delegate Frank S. Turner, District 13
Delegate Veronica Turner, District 26
Delegate Michael L. Vaughn, District 24
Delegate Jeff Waldstreicher, District 18
Delegate Jay Walker, District 26

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Attorney General
Civil Actions -see also- Small Claims
Crimes and Punishments -see also- Penalties; Sentences; etc.
Financial Regulation, Division of
Fraud -see also- Forgery
Liens -see also- Mechanics` Liens
Personal Property
Real Property
Search and Seizure
State`s Attorneys

Bill affects the following Statutes:

Criminal Procedure
( 13-401 , 13-402 , 13-403 , 13-404 , 13-405 , 13-406 , 13-407 , 13-408 )
Financial Institutions
( 11-501 )
Real Property
( 7-401 , 7-402 , 7-403 , 7-404 , 7-405 , 7-406 , 7-407 , 7-408 , 7-409 )


Bill Text (Displayed in PDF Format): First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled, Chapter
Fiscal and Policy Note (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Amendments (Displayed in PDF Format):
Number: 693993/01     Offered on: March 19, 2008   at: 10:27 a.m.     Status: Adopted
Roll Call Votes (Legislative dates are shown):
March 17, 2008: Third Reading Passed (117-19)
March 29, 2008: Third Reading Passed (46-1)