2007 Regular Session


EMERGENCY BILL File Code: Courts and Court Personnel - Local
Sponsored By:
Senators Hogan, Astle, Brinkley, Britt, Brochin, Colburn, Conway, Currie, DeGrange, Della, Dyson, Edwards, Exum, Forehand, Frosh, Garagiola, Gladden, Haines, Hooper, Jacobs, Jones, Kasemeyer, Kelley, Kittleman, Klausmeier, Kramer, Lenett, Madaleno, McFadden, Middleton, Miller, Munson, Muse, Peters, Pinsky, Pipkin, Pugh, Raskin, Robey, Rosapepe, Simonaire, Stoltzfus, Stone, and Zirkin
Silver Spring District Courthouse - Renaming


Renaming the District Courthouse located in Silver Spring, Montgomery County, the Judge L. Leonard Ruben District Courthouse; providing for specified funding for the implementation of the Act; requiring a specified administrative officer to change specified signs to reflect the renaming of the Courthouse; and making the Act an emergency measure.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

Senate Action
First Reading Education Health and Environmental Affairs
Motion Rules Suspended for late introduction (Senator Hogan) Adopted
Motion Rules Suspended Referred (Senator Hogan) Adopted
Referred Education Health and Environmental Affairs
Hearing 3/29 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed
Third Reading Passed (46-0)
Returned Passed
House Action
First Reading House Rules and Executive Nominations
Motion Rules Suspended Referred (Delegate Barkley) Adopted
Referred Health and Government Operations
Hearing 4/4 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable Report by Health and Government Operations
Favorable Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed
Third Reading Passed (139-0)
Action after passage in Senate and House
Approved by the Governor
- Chapter 302

Sponsored by:

Senator Patrick J. Hogan, District 39
Senator John C. Astle, District 30
Senator David R. Brinkley, District 4
Senator Gwendolyn Britt, District 47
Senator Jim Brochin, District 42
Senator Richard F. Colburn, District 37
Senator Joan Carter Conway, District 43
Senator Ulysses Currie, District 25
Senator James E. DeGrange, Sr., District 32
Senator George W. Della, Jr., District 46
Senator Roy P. Dyson, District 29
Senator George C. Edwards, District 1
Senator Nathaniel Exum, District 24
Senator Jennie M. Forehand, District 17
Senator Brian E. Frosh, District 16
Senator Rob Garagiola, District 15
Senator Lisa A. Gladden, District 41
Senator Larry E. Haines, District 5
Senator J. Robert Hooper, District 35
Senator Nancy Jacobs, District 34
Senator Verna L. Jones, District 44
Senator Edward J. Kasemeyer, District 12
Senator Delores G. Kelley, District 10
Senator Allan H. Kittleman, District 9
Senator Katherine Klausmeier, District 8
Senator Rona E. Kramer, District 14
Senator Mike Lenett, District 19
Senator Richard S. Madaleno, Jr., District 18
Senator Nathaniel J. McFadden, District 45
Senator Thomas M. Middleton, District 28
Senator Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., District 27
Senator Donald F. Munson, District 2
Senator C. Anthony Muse, District 26
Senator Douglas J. J. Peters, District 23
Senator Paul G. Pinsky, District 22
Senator E. J. Pipkin, District 36
Senator Catherine E. Pugh, District 40
Senator Jamie Raskin, District 20
Senator James N. Robey, District 13
Senator Jim Rosapepe, District 21
Senator Bryan W. Simonaire, District 31
Senator J. Lowell Stoltzfus, District 38
Senator Norman R. Stone, Jr., District 6
Senator Bobby A. Zirkin, District 11

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

District Courts
Montgomery County
Names -see also- Proper Names
Public Buildings and Facilities -see also- Stadiums; St Hse.
Signs and Billboards

Bill affects the following Statute:

Courts and Judicial Proceedings
( 1-603.1 )


Bill Text (Displayed in PDF Format): First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled, Chapter
Fiscal and Policy Note (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Amendments: None offered
Roll Call Votes (Legislative dates are shown):
March 29, 2007: Third Reading Passed (46-0)
March 28, 2007: Motion Rules Suspended Referred (Barkley) Adopted (128-0)
March 31, 2007: Third Reading Passed (139-0)