2007 Regular Session


File Code: Higher Education Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 268
Sponsored By:
Delegates Heller, Ali, Anderson, Aumann, Barkley, Bates, Bobo, Boteler, Braveboy, Bromwell, Bronrott, G. Clagett, V. Clagett, Conaway, Conway, DeBoy, Dumais, Elliott, Elmore, Feldman, Frank, Gilchrist, Glenn, Guzzone, Haddaway, Harrison, Haynes, Healey, Hixson, Hubbard, Hucker, Impallaria, Jennings, Jones, Kach, Kaiser, Kelly, N. King, Kipke, Kirk, Kramer, Krysiak, Kullen, Lawton, Lee, Love, Malone, Manno, McDonough, McKee, Minnick, Mizeur, Montgomery, Morhaim, Myers, Nathan-Pulliam, Oaks, Pendergrass, Proctor, Ramirez, Rice, Riley, Rosenberg, Schuler, Shewell, Simmons, Smigiel, Sophocleus, Sossi, Stukes, Stull, Taylor, F. Turner, Vaughn, Waldstreicher, Weir, Weldon, Wood, and Krebs
Higher Education - Blind and Print Disabled Students - Instructional Materials


Requiring the Maryland Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped to convene an Instructional Materials Access Guidelines Committee on or before December 1, 2007, in order to coordinate the distribution of instructional materials to blind and other print disabled students; providing for the membership of the Committee; providing for the termination of the Committee; providing for the content of specified guidelines; etc.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

House Action
First Reading Ways and Means
Hearing 3/6 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Ways and Means
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed (140-0)
House Concur - Senate Amendments
Third Reading Passed (140-0)
Passed Enrolled
Senate Action
First Reading Education Health and Environmental Affairs
Favorable Report by Education Health and Environmental Affairs
Favorable Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed
Floor Amendment (Senator Conway) Adopted
Third Reading Passed with Amendments (47-0)
Action after passage in House and Senate
Approved by the Governor
- Chapter 318

Sponsored by:

Delegate Henry B. Heller, District 19
Delegate Saqib Ali, District 39
Delegate Curt Anderson, District 43
Delegate Susan L. M. Aumann, District 42
Delegate Charles Barkley, District 39
Delegate Gail H. Bates, District 9A
Delegate Elizabeth Bobo, District 12B
Delegate Joseph C. Boteler, III, District 8
Delegate Aisha N. Braveboy, District 25
Delegate Eric M. Bromwell, District 8
Delegate William A. Bronrott, District 16
Delegate Virginia P. Clagett, District 30
Delegate Galen R. Clagett, District 3A
Delegate Frank M. Conaway, Jr., District 40
Delegate Norman H. Conway, District 38B
Delegate Steven J. DeBoy, Sr., District 12A
Delegate Kathleen M. Dumais, District 15
Delegate Donald B. Elliott, District 4B
Delegate D. Page Elmore, District 38A
Delegate Brian J. Feldman, District 15
Delegate William J. Frank, District 42
Delegate Jim Gilchrist, District 17
Delegate Cheryl Glenn, District 45
Delegate Guy Guzzone, District 13
Delegate Jeannie Haddaway, District 37B
Delegate Hattie N. Harrison, District 45
Delegate Keith E. Haynes, District 44
Delegate Anne Healey, District 22
Delegate Sheila E. Hixson, District 20
Delegate James W. Hubbard, District 23A
Delegate Tom Hucker, District 20
Delegate Rick Impallaria, District 7
Delegate J. B. Jennings, District 7
Delegate Adrienne A. Jones, District 10
Delegate Wade Kach, District 5
Delegate Anne R. Kaiser, District 14
Delegate Kevin Kelly, District 1B
Delegate Nancy J. King, District 39
Delegate Nicholaus R. Kipke, District 31
Delegate Ruth M. Kirk, District 44
Delegate Benjamin F. Kramer, District 19
Delegate Susan W. Krebs, District 9B
Delegate Carolyn J. Krysiak, District 46
Delegate Sue Kullen, District 27B
Delegate Jane E. Lawton, District 18
Delegate Susan C. Lee, District 16
Delegate Mary Ann E. Love, District 32
Delegate James E. Malone, Jr., District 12A
Delegate Roger Manno, District 19
Delegate Pat McDonough, District 7
Delegate Robert A. McKee, District 2A
Delegate Joseph J. Minnick, District 6
Delegate Heather Mizeur, District 20
Delegate Karen S. Montgomery, District 14
Delegate Dan K. Morhaim, District 11
Delegate LeRoy E. Myers, Jr., District 1C
Delegate Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, District 10
Delegate Nathaniel T. Oaks, District 41
Delegate Shane E. Pendergrass, District 13
Delegate James E. Proctor, Jr., District 27A
Delegate Victor R. Ramirez, District 47
Delegate Craig L. Rice, District 15
Delegate B. Daniel Riley, District 34A
Delegate Samuel I. Rosenberg, District 41
Delegate Todd Schuler, District 8
Delegate Tanya Shewell, District 5A
Delegate Luiz R. S. Simmons, District 17
Delegate Michael D. Smigiel, Sr., District 36
Delegate Theodore Sophocleus, District 32
Delegate Richard A. Sossi, District 36
Delegate Melvin Stukes, District 44
Delegate Paul S. Stull, District 4A
Delegate Herman L. Taylor, Jr., District 14
Delegate Frank S. Turner, District 13
Delegate Michael L. Vaughn, District 24
Delegate Jeff Waldstreicher, District 18
Delegate Michael H. Weir, Jr., District 6
Delegate Richard B. Weldon, Jr., District 3B
Delegate John F. Wood, Jr., District 29A

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Blind Persons
Committees and Commissions -see also- Political Committees
Computers -see also- Electronic Commerce; Electronic Govmnt.
Disabilities -see also- Blind; Deaf; Developmental
Education, Department of
Equipment -see also- Motor Vehicle Equipment
Higher Education -see also- Comm Colleges; Med Schools; etc.
Libraries -see also- Archives
Publications -see also- Maryland Register

Bill affects the following Statutes:

( 11-901 , 11-902 , 11-903 , 11-904 , 11-906 , 11-905 )


Bill Text (Displayed in PDF Format): First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled, Chapter
Fiscal and Policy Note (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Amendments (Displayed in PDF Format):
Number: 835963/01     Offered on: March 20, 2007   at: 10:47 a.m.     Status: Adopted
Number: 763220/01     Offered on: April 6, 2007   at: 11:21 a.m.     Status: Adopted
Roll Call Votes (Legislative dates are shown):
March 18, 2007: Third Reading Passed (140-0)
April 1, 2007: Third Reading Passed (140-0)
April 2, 2007: Third Reading Passed (47-0)