2007 Regular Session


File Code: Higher Education
Sponsored By:
Delegates Mizeur, Anderson, Barkley, Beidle, Bobo, Braveboy, Bromwell, Bronrott, V. Clagett, Dumais, Feldman, Gutierrez, Hecht, Howard, Ivey, Kaiser, Kelly, Kipke, Kullen, Lawton, Lee, Manno, McComas, Montgomery, Oaks, Pena-Melnyk, Rice, Schuler, Stein, Tarrant, Valderrama, and Waldstreicher
Higher Education - Maryland Truth in Tuition Act


Requiring a governing board to develop, on or before July 1, 2008, a long-term tuition plan for a public senior higher education institution; providing that the purpose of the long-term tuition plan is to ensure that specified students enrolling in and specified individuals who apply for admission to public senior higher education institutions are informed of the tuition that will be charged for 4 academic years of enrollment; requiring a governing board or public senior higher education institution to publish specified rates; etc.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

House Action
First Reading Appropriations
Hearing 3/22 at 1:00 p.m.
Unfavorable Report by Appropriations
Senate Action
No Action

Sponsored by:

Delegate Heather Mizeur, District 20
Delegate Curt Anderson, District 43
Delegate Charles Barkley, District 39
Delegate Pamela Beidle, District 32
Delegate Elizabeth Bobo, District 12B
Delegate Aisha N. Braveboy, District 25
Delegate Eric M. Bromwell, District 8
Delegate William A. Bronrott, District 16
Delegate Virginia P. Clagett, District 30
Delegate Kathleen M. Dumais, District 15
Delegate Brian J. Feldman, District 15
Delegate Ana Sol Gutierrez, District 18
Delegate Sue Hecht, District 3A
Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate Jolene Ivey, District 47
Delegate Anne R. Kaiser, District 14
Delegate Kevin Kelly, District 1B
Delegate Nicholaus R. Kipke, District 31
Delegate Sue Kullen, District 27B
Delegate Jane E. Lawton, District 18
Delegate Susan C. Lee, District 16
Delegate Roger Manno, District 19
Delegate Susan K. McComas, District 35B
Delegate Karen S. Montgomery, District 14
Delegate Nathaniel T. Oaks, District 41
Delegate Joseline Pena-Melnyk, District 21
Delegate Craig L. Rice, District 15
Delegate Todd Schuler, District 8
Delegate Dana Stein, District 11
Delegate Shawn Z. Tarrant, District 40
Delegate Kriselda Valderrama, District 26
Delegate Jeff Waldstreicher, District 18

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Committees and Commissions -see also- Political Committees
Publications -see also- Maryland Register
State Universities and Colleges

Bill affects the following Statute:

( 15-106.6 )


Bill Text (Displayed in PDF Format): First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal and Policy Note (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Amendments: None offered