2007 Regular Session


File Code: Elections
Sponsored By:
Delegates Vallario, Ivey, Ali, Anderson, Barnes, Bartlett, Benson, Bohanan, Branch, Braveboy, Bronrott, Burns, Cane, Carter, Conaway, Davis, Donoghue, Doory, Dumais, Dwyer, Elmore, Feldman, Frush, Gilchrist, Griffith, Gutierrez, Hammen, Hecht, Hixson, Howard, Hubbard, Hucker, Jameson, Jennings, Kelly, J. King, N. King, Kipke, Kirk, Krebs, Krysiak, Kullen, Lawton, Lee, Levi, Levy, Manno, McIntosh, Montgomery, Murphy, Myers, Nathan-Pulliam, Niemann, Oaks, Pena-Melnyk, Proctor, Ramirez, Rice, Rosenberg, Ross, Shank, Shewell, Simmons, Smigiel, Stifler, Stocksdale, Stukes, Tarrant, Taylor, F. Turner, Valderrama, Vaughn, Walker, Weldon, and Wood
Election Law - Campaign Finance - Period Reporting Requirements


Authorizing a campaign finance entity to file a specified affidavit instead of filing a campaign finance report covering a specified period; requiring a campaign finance entity to file the affidavit by specified dates; establishing a reporting procedure to be followed if the campaign finance entity raises or expends a specified amount; clarifying that a campaign finance entity that files a specified affidavit is still subject to a specified reporting requirement; establishing a penalty; etc.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

House Action
First Reading Ways and Means
Hearing 3/7 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Ways and Means
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed (136-0)
Returned Passed
Senate Action
First Reading Education Health and Environmental Affairs
Hearing 4/5 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable Report by Education Health and Environmental Affairs
Favorable Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed
Floor Amendment (Senator Mooney) Rejected (20-26)
Third Reading Passed (46-0)
Action after passage in House and Senate
Approved by the Governor
- Chapter 449

Sponsored by:

Delegate Joseph F. Vallario, Jr., District 27A
Delegate Saqib Ali, District 39
Delegate Curt Anderson, District 43
Delegate Ben Barnes, District 21
Delegate Joseph R. Bartlett, District 4A
Delegate Joanne C. Benson, District 24
Delegate John L. Bohanan, Jr., District 29B
Delegate Talmadge Branch, District 45
Delegate Aisha N. Braveboy, District 25
Delegate William A. Bronrott, District 16
Delegate Emmett C. Burns, Jr., District 10
Delegate Rudolph C. Cane, District 37A
Delegate Jill P. Carter, District 41
Delegate Frank M. Conaway, Jr., District 40
Delegate Dereck E. Davis, District 25
Delegate John P. Donoghue, District 2C
Delegate Ann Marie Doory, District 43
Delegate Kathleen M. Dumais, District 15
Delegate Donald H. Dwyer, Jr., District 31
Delegate D. Page Elmore, District 38A
Delegate Brian J. Feldman, District 15
Delegate Barbara Frush, District 21
Delegate Jim Gilchrist, District 17
Delegate Melony G. Griffith, District 25
Delegate Ana Sol Gutierrez, District 18
Delegate Peter A. Hammen, District 46
Delegate Sue Hecht, District 3A
Delegate Sheila E. Hixson, District 20
Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate James W. Hubbard, District 23A
Delegate Tom Hucker, District 20
Delegate Jolene Ivey, District 47
Delegate Sally Jameson, District 28
Delegate J. B. Jennings, District 7
Delegate Kevin Kelly, District 1B
Delegate Nancy J. King, District 39
Delegate James S. King, District 33A
Delegate Nicholaus R. Kipke, District 31
Delegate Ruth M. Kirk, District 44
Delegate Susan W. Krebs, District 9B
Delegate Carolyn J. Krysiak, District 46
Delegate Sue Kullen, District 27B
Delegate Jane E. Lawton, District 18
Delegate Susan C. Lee, District 16
Delegate Gerron Levi, District 23A
Delegate Murray D. Levy, District 28
Delegate Roger Manno, District 19
Delegate Maggie McIntosh, District 43
Delegate Karen S. Montgomery, District 14
Delegate Peter Murphy, District 28
Delegate LeRoy E. Myers, Jr., District 1C
Delegate Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, District 10
Delegate Doyle L. Niemann, District 47
Delegate Nathaniel T. Oaks, District 41
Delegate Joseline Pena-Melnyk, District 21
Delegate James E. Proctor, Jr., District 27A
Delegate Victor R. Ramirez, District 47
Delegate Craig L. Rice, District 15
Delegate Samuel I. Rosenberg, District 41
Delegate Justin D. Ross, District 22
Delegate Christopher B. Shank, District 2B
Delegate Tanya Shewell, District 5A
Delegate Luiz R. S. Simmons, District 17
Delegate Michael D. Smigiel, Sr., District 36
Delegate Donna Stifler, District 35A
Delegate Nancy R. Stocksdale, District 5A
Delegate Melvin Stukes, District 44
Delegate Shawn Z. Tarrant, District 40
Delegate Herman L. Taylor, Jr., District 14
Delegate Frank S. Turner, District 13
Delegate Kriselda Valderrama, District 26
Delegate Michael L. Vaughn, District 24
Delegate Jay Walker, District 26
Delegate Richard B. Weldon, Jr., District 3B
Delegate John F. Wood, Jr., District 29A

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Campaign Financing
Political Candidates
Political Committees

Bill affects the following Statutes:

Election Law
( 13-208 , 13-304 , 13-305 , 13-309 , 13-312 )


Bill Text (Displayed in PDF Format): First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled, Chapter
Fiscal and Policy Note (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Amendments (Displayed in PDF Format):
Number: 885466/01     Offered on: March 24, 2007   at: 4:05 p.m.     Status: Adopted
Number: 963024/01     Offered on: April 9, 2007   at: 11:53 p.m.     Status: Rejected
Roll Call Votes (Legislative dates are shown):
March 22, 2007: Third Reading Passed (136-0)
April 5, 2007: Floor Amendment (Mooney) {963024/1 Rejected (20-26)
April 5, 2007: Third Reading Passed (46-0)