2007 Regular Session


File Code: State Pensions and Retirement
Sponsored By:
Delegates Conway, Proctor, Gaines, Healey, Ross, Costa, Anderson, Branch, Braveboy, G. Clagett, Eckardt, Griffith, Guzzone, Haynes, Hixson, James, Jones, Levy, Love, Mathias, McIntosh, Niemann, Rosenberg, Rudolph, Stocksdale, Barnes, Benson, Davis, Frush, Holmes, Howard, Hubbard, Ivey, Levi, Pena-Melnyk, Ramirez, Valderrama, Vallario, and Vaughn
Teachers' Retirement System and Teachers' Pension System - Reemployment of Retirees


Increasing the minimum number of specified retirees of the Teachers' Retirement System or Teachers' Pension System that school districts may rehire; and altering the criteria for hiring specified retirees of the Teachers' Retirement System or the Teachers' Pension System who are exempt from an earnings offset of a retirement allowance.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

House Action
First Reading Appropriations
Hearing 2/27 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Appropriations
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed (140-0)
Returned Passed
Senate Action
First Reading Budget and Taxation
Hearing 3/27 at 8:30 a.m.
Hearing cancelled
Hearing 3/28 at 8:00 a.m.
Hearing cancelled
Favorable Report by Budget and Taxation
Favorable Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed
Third Reading Passed (47-0)
Action after passage in House and Senate
Approved by the Governor
- Chapter 443

Sponsored by:

Delegate Norman H. Conway, District 38B
Delegate Curt Anderson, District 43
Delegate Ben Barnes, District 21
Delegate Joanne C. Benson, District 24
Delegate Talmadge Branch, District 45
Delegate Aisha N. Braveboy, District 25
Delegate Galen R. Clagett, District 3A
Delegate Robert A. Costa, District 33B
Delegate Dereck E. Davis, District 25
Delegate Adelaide C. Eckardt, District 37
Delegate Barbara Frush, District 21
Delegate Tawanna P. Gaines, District 22
Delegate Melony G. Griffith, District 25
Delegate Guy Guzzone, District 13
Delegate Keith E. Haynes, District 44
Delegate Anne Healey, District 22
Delegate Sheila E. Hixson, District 20
Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr., District 23B
Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate James W. Hubbard, District 23A
Delegate Jolene Ivey, District 47
Delegate Mary-Dulany James, District 34A
Delegate Adrienne A. Jones, District 10
Delegate Gerron Levi, District 23A
Delegate Murray D. Levy, District 28
Delegate Mary Ann E. Love, District 32
Delegate James N. Mathias, Jr., District 38B
Delegate Maggie McIntosh, District 43
Delegate Doyle L. Niemann, District 47
Delegate Joseline Pena-Melnyk, District 21
Delegate James E. Proctor, Jr., District 27A
Delegate Victor R. Ramirez, District 47
Delegate Samuel I. Rosenberg, District 41
Delegate Justin D. Ross, District 22
Delegate David D. Rudolph, District 34B
Delegate Nancy R. Stocksdale, District 5A
Delegate Kriselda Valderrama, District 26
Delegate Joseph F. Vallario, Jr., District 27A
Delegate Michael L. Vaughn, District 24

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Education, Boards of
Education, Department of
Public Schools
Retirement Systems -see also- Mandatory Retirement
State Employees
Work, Labor and Employment -see also- Col Barg; Holiday; etc

Bill affects the following Statutes:

State Personnel and Pensions
( 22-406 , 23-407 )


Bill Text (Displayed in PDF Format): First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled, Chapter
Fiscal and Policy Note (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Amendments (Displayed in PDF Format):
Number: 824466/01     Offered on: March 20, 2007   at: 10:22 a.m.     Status: Adopted
Roll Call Vote (Legislative date is shown):
March 18, 2007: Third Reading Passed (140-0)