2007 Regular Session


File Code: Courts and Court Personnel - Statewide Prior Year Introduction As: HB 1165/06 - JUD
Sponsored By:
Delegates Lee, Ali, Barkley, Bronrott, DeBoy, Dumais, Goldwater, Healey, Heller, Hixson, Hubbard, Impallaria, James, Jones, Kaiser, Krebs, Lawton, Manno, McComas, McDonough, Minnick, Mizeur, Montgomery, Nathan-Pulliam, Pendergrass, Ramirez, Robinson, Schuler, Shank, Shewell, Sophocleus, Stocksdale, F. Turner, Valderrama, Waldstreicher, and Walkup
Criminal Law - Identity Fraud Victims - Judicial Determinations of Innocence and Victim Database


Authorizing a person who has learned or reasonably suspects that the person has been the victim of identity fraud to petition a court for an expedited judicial determination of factual innocence; establishing that a judicial determination of factual innocence may be heard and determined on specified evidence; requiring the Administrative Office of the Courts to establish and maintain a database of victims of identity fraud; etc.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

House Action
First Reading Judiciary
Hearing 2/27 at 1:00 p.m.
Senate Action
No Action

Sponsored by:

Delegate Susan C. Lee, District 16
Delegate Saqib Ali, District 39
Delegate Charles Barkley, District 39
Delegate William A. Bronrott, District 16
Delegate Steven J. DeBoy, Sr., District 12A
Delegate Kathleen M. Dumais, District 15
Delegate Marilyn R. Goldwater, District 16
Delegate Anne Healey, District 22
Delegate Henry B. Heller, District 19
Delegate Sheila E. Hixson, District 20
Delegate James W. Hubbard, District 23A
Delegate Rick Impallaria, District 7
Delegate Mary-Dulany James, District 34A
Delegate Adrienne A. Jones, District 10
Delegate Anne R. Kaiser, District 14
Delegate Susan W. Krebs, District 9B
Delegate Jane E. Lawton, District 18
Delegate Roger Manno, District 19
Delegate Susan K. McComas, District 35B
Delegate Pat McDonough, District 7
Delegate Joseph J. Minnick, District 6
Delegate Heather Mizeur, District 20
Delegate Karen S. Montgomery, District 14
Delegate Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, District 10
Delegate Shane E. Pendergrass, District 13
Delegate Victor R. Ramirez, District 47
Delegate Barbara Robinson, District 40
Delegate Todd Schuler, District 8
Delegate Christopher B. Shank, District 2B
Delegate Tanya Shewell, District 5A
Delegate Theodore Sophocleus, District 32
Delegate Nancy R. Stocksdale, District 5A
Delegate Frank S. Turner, District 13
Delegate Kriselda Valderrama, District 26
Delegate Jeff Waldstreicher, District 18
Delegate Mary Roe Walkup, District 36

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Administrative Office of the Courts
Courts -see also- Circuit; Appeals; District; Orphans'; etc.
Crimes and Punishments -see also- Penalties; Sentences; etc.
Electronic Government
Fraud -see also- Forgery
Records -see also- Land Records; Vital Records
Theft -see also- Shoplifting
Victims -see also- Criminal Injuries Compensation

Bill affects the following Statute:

Criminal Law
( 8-306 )


Bill Text (Displayed in PDF Format): First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal and Policy Note (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Amendments: None offered