2007 Regular Session


File Code: Environment Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 409
Sponsored By:
Delegates Barve, Ali, Beidle, Bobo, Bromwell, Bronrott, Cane, Cardin, V. Clagett, Doory, Dumais, Gilchrist, Guzzone, Healey, Hecht, Hixson, Hubbard, Hucker, Kaiser, N. King, Kullen, Lafferty, Lawton, Lee, Love, Manno, McIntosh, Montgomery, Morhaim, Olszewski, Pendergrass, Rice, Ross, Simmons, Stein, Stukes, Tarrant, Taylor, and Waldstreicher
Global Warming Solutions - Reductions in Greenhouse Gas Emissions


Establishing limits on emissions of greenhouse gases; requiring the Department of the Environment to determine the statewide greenhouse gas emissions level from 1990 and establish a statewide greenhouse gas emissions limit based on that level; requiring the Department to prepare a plan that identifies and recommends specified measures after consulting with other state agencies; establishing the Greenhouse Gas Emissions Reduction Fund; creating the Office of Climate Change within the Department and specifying its duties; etc.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

House Action
First Reading Economic Matters & Environmental Matters
Hearing 3/6 at 1:00 p.m.
Hearing cancelled
Hearing 3/9 at 1:00 p.m.
Senate Action
No Action

Sponsored by:

Delegate Kumar P. Barve, District 17
Delegate Saqib Ali, District 39
Delegate Pamela Beidle, District 32
Delegate Elizabeth Bobo, District 12B
Delegate Eric M. Bromwell, District 8
Delegate William A. Bronrott, District 16
Delegate Rudolph C. Cane, District 37A
Delegate Jon S. Cardin, District 11
Delegate Virginia P. Clagett, District 30
Delegate Ann Marie Doory, District 43
Delegate Kathleen M. Dumais, District 15
Delegate Jim Gilchrist, District 17
Delegate Guy Guzzone, District 13
Delegate Anne Healey, District 22
Delegate Sue Hecht, District 3A
Delegate Sheila E. Hixson, District 20
Delegate James W. Hubbard, District 23A
Delegate Tom Hucker, District 20
Delegate Anne R. Kaiser, District 14
Delegate Nancy J. King, District 39
Delegate Sue Kullen, District 27B
Delegate Stephen W. Lafferty, District 42
Delegate Jane E. Lawton, District 18
Delegate Susan C. Lee, District 16
Delegate Mary Ann E. Love, District 32
Delegate Roger Manno, District 19
Delegate Maggie McIntosh, District 43
Delegate Karen S. Montgomery, District 14
Delegate Dan K. Morhaim, District 11
Delegate John A. Olszewski, Jr., District 6
Delegate Shane E. Pendergrass, District 13
Delegate Craig L. Rice, District 15
Delegate Justin D. Ross, District 22
Delegate Luiz R. S. Simmons, District 17
Delegate Dana Stein, District 11
Delegate Melvin Stukes, District 44
Delegate Shawn Z. Tarrant, District 40
Delegate Herman L. Taylor, Jr., District 14
Delegate Jeff Waldstreicher, District 18

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Administrative Agencies -see also- Electronic Government
Committees and Commissions -see also- Political Committees
Energy Matters -see also- Fuel; Power Plants; Solar Energy
Environment, Department of
Environmental Matters -see also- Conserv; Nat Resrce; Pollut
Federal Government
Fees -see also- Devt Fees and Taxes; Reimbursement Rates
Hazardous and Toxic Substances -see also- Asbestos; Radiatn.
Interstate Affairs
Local Government Mandates
Pollution -see also- Sediment Control
Public Information
Revenue and Taxes -see also- Dev Fees &Taxes; specific tax
Rules and Regulations

Bill affects the following Statutes:

( 2-1101 , 2-1102 , 2-1103 , 2-1104 , 2-1105 , 2-1106 , 2-1107 , 2-1108 , 2-1109 , 2-1110 , 2-1111 , 2-1112 , 2-1113 )


Bill Text (Displayed in PDF Format): First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal and Policy Note (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Amendments: None offered