2007 Regular Session


File Code: Public Health Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 361
Sponsored By:
Delegates Malone, Barkley, Barnes, Barve, Beitzel, Bohanan, Boteler, Bronrott, Cane, Cardin, G. Clagett, V. Clagett, Conway, Costa, DeBoy, Dumais, Eckardt, Elmore, Frank, Frush, Gilchrist, Glassman, Haddaway, Harrison, Haynes, Hecht, Heller, Hixson, Hubbard, James, Jennings, Jones, Kach, Kramer, Krebs, Krysiak, Kullen, Lawton, Love, Manno, Mathias, McConkey, Minnick, Montgomery, Morhaim, Murphy, Niemann, Pena-Melnyk, Pendergrass, Proctor, Ramirez, Ross, Rudolph, Sossi, Stull, Taylor, Vaughn, Weir, Weldon, Davis, Feldman, Jameson, and McHale
Cigarette Fire Safety Performance Standard and Firefighter Protection Act


Prohibiting the manufacture, sale, or offer for sale of cigarettes in the State unless the cigarettes have been tested in a specified manner and meet a performance standard and the manufacturer has filed a specified certification with the Comptroller; establishing a performance standard for cigarettes; requiring that testing of cigarettes be conducted in a specified manner; requiring laboratories that conduct testing to implement a specified quality control and quality assurance program; etc.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

House Action
First Reading Economic Matters
Hearing 3/7 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Economic Matters
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Special Order 3/15 (Delegate O'Donnell) Adopted
Special Order 3/16 (Delegate O'Donnell) Adopted
Floor Amendment (Delegate O'Donnell) Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed (136-1)
Returned Passed
Senate Action
First Reading Finance
Hearing 3/29 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable Report by Finance
Favorable Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed
Third Reading Passed (47-0)
Action after passage in House and Senate
Approved by the Governor
- Chapter 497

Sponsored by:

Delegate James E. Malone, Jr., District 12A
Delegate Charles Barkley, District 39
Delegate Ben Barnes, District 21
Delegate Kumar P. Barve, District 17
Delegate Wendell R. Beitzel, District 1A
Delegate John L. Bohanan, Jr., District 29B
Delegate Joseph C. Boteler, III, District 8
Delegate William A. Bronrott, District 16
Delegate Rudolph C. Cane, District 37A
Delegate Jon S. Cardin, District 11
Delegate Virginia P. Clagett, District 30
Delegate Galen R. Clagett, District 3A
Delegate Norman H. Conway, District 38B
Delegate Robert A. Costa, District 33B
Delegate Dereck E. Davis, District 25
Delegate Steven J. DeBoy, Sr., District 12A
Delegate Kathleen M. Dumais, District 15
Delegate Adelaide C. Eckardt, District 37
Delegate D. Page Elmore, District 38A
Delegate Brian J. Feldman, District 15
Delegate William J. Frank, District 42
Delegate Barbara Frush, District 21
Delegate Jim Gilchrist, District 17
Delegate Barry Glassman, District 35A
Delegate Jeannie Haddaway, District 37B
Delegate Hattie N. Harrison, District 45
Delegate Keith E. Haynes, District 44
Delegate Sue Hecht, District 3A
Delegate Henry B. Heller, District 19
Delegate Sheila E. Hixson, District 20
Delegate James W. Hubbard, District 23A
Delegate Mary-Dulany James, District 34A
Delegate Sally Jameson, District 28
Delegate J. B. Jennings, District 7
Delegate Adrienne A. Jones, District 10
Delegate Wade Kach, District 5
Delegate Benjamin F. Kramer, District 19
Delegate Susan W. Krebs, District 9B
Delegate Carolyn J. Krysiak, District 46
Delegate Sue Kullen, District 27B
Delegate Jane E. Lawton, District 18
Delegate Mary Ann E. Love, District 32
Delegate Roger Manno, District 19
Delegate James N. Mathias, Jr., District 38B
Delegate Tony McConkey, District 33A
Delegate Brian K. McHale, District 46
Delegate Joseph J. Minnick, District 6
Delegate Karen S. Montgomery, District 14
Delegate Dan K. Morhaim, District 11
Delegate Peter Murphy, District 28
Delegate Doyle L. Niemann, District 47
Delegate Joseline Pena-Melnyk, District 21
Delegate Shane E. Pendergrass, District 13
Delegate James E. Proctor, Jr., District 27A
Delegate Victor R. Ramirez, District 47
Delegate Justin D. Ross, District 22
Delegate David D. Rudolph, District 34B
Delegate Richard A. Sossi, District 36
Delegate Paul S. Stull, District 4A
Delegate Herman L. Taylor, Jr., District 14
Delegate Michael L. Vaughn, District 24
Delegate Michael H. Weir, Jr., District 6
Delegate Richard B. Weldon, Jr., District 3B

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Attorney General
Cigarettes -see also- Smoking
Civil Actions -see also- Small Claims
Commerce and Business -see also- Dealers; Traders; etc
Consumer Protection -see also- Unfair Trade Practices
Federal Government
Fees -see also- Devt Fees and Taxes; Reimbursement Rates
Fire Protection
Inspections -see also- Motor Vehicle Inspection
Interstate Affairs
Law Enforcement -see also- State Police, Department of
Laws and Ordinances -see also- Pub Local Laws; Uniform Laws.
Licenses -see also- Alcoholic Bev Lic; Drivers' Licenses
Records -see also- Land Records; Vital Records
Rescue Squads -see also- Ambulances; Emergency Medical Serv.
Revenue and Taxes -see also- Dev Fees &Taxes; specific tax
Rules and Regulations
Safety -see also- Occupational Safety
Search and Seizure
Vending Machines

Bill affects the following Statutes:

Business Regulation
( 16-601 , 16-602 , 16-603 , 16-604 , 16-605 , 16-606 , 16-607 , 16-608 , 16-609 , 16-610 )
Public Safety
( 8-102 , 8-102 )


Bill Text (Displayed in PDF Format): First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled, Chapter
Fiscal and Policy Note (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Amendments (Displayed in PDF Format):
Number: 463796/01     Offered on: March 14, 2007   at: 10:19 a.m.     Status: Adopted
Number: 923822/01     Offered on: March 16, 2007   at: 11:48 a.m.     Status: Adopted
Roll Call Votes (Legislative dates are shown):
March 17, 2007: Third Reading Passed (136-1)
March 31, 2007: Third Reading Passed (47-0)