2007 Regular Session


File Code: Elections Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 546
Sponsored By:
Delegates Cardin, Ali, Anderson, Barkley, Barnes, Benson, Bobo, Bromwell, V. Clagett, Feldman, Gaines, Gutierrez, Heller, Hixson, Hubbard, Hucker, Jones, N. King, Lawton, Lee, Manno, McIntosh, Mizeur, Montgomery, Niemann, Pena-Melnyk, Pendergrass, Proctor, Rosenberg, Ross, Schuler, Stein, F. Turner, and Waldstreicher
Election Law - Public Campaign Financing Act for Candidates for the General Assembly


Establishing a system of public financing of campaigns for candidates for the General Assembly; establishing an Election Financing Commission; creating the Public Election Fund; requiring the Comptroller to distribute specified proceeds to the Public Election Fund; specifying procedures, requirements, and conditions participating candidates must meet to receive a distribution from the Fund; requiring that participating candidates adhere to specified campaign expenditure limits; etc.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

House Action
First Reading Ways and Means
Hearing 3/20 at 1:00 p.m.
Senate Action
No Action

Sponsored by:

Delegate Jon S. Cardin, District 11
Delegate Saqib Ali, District 39
Delegate Curt Anderson, District 43
Delegate Charles Barkley, District 39
Delegate Ben Barnes, District 21
Delegate Joanne C. Benson, District 24
Delegate Elizabeth Bobo, District 12B
Delegate Eric M. Bromwell, District 8
Delegate Virginia P. Clagett, District 30
Delegate Brian J. Feldman, District 15
Delegate Tawanna P. Gaines, District 22
Delegate Ana Sol Gutierrez, District 18
Delegate Henry B. Heller, District 19
Delegate Sheila E. Hixson, District 20
Delegate James W. Hubbard, District 23A
Delegate Tom Hucker, District 20
Delegate Adrienne A. Jones, District 10
Delegate Nancy J. King, District 39
Delegate Jane E. Lawton, District 18
Delegate Susan C. Lee, District 16
Delegate Roger Manno, District 19
Delegate Maggie McIntosh, District 43
Delegate Heather Mizeur, District 20
Delegate Karen S. Montgomery, District 14
Delegate Doyle L. Niemann, District 47
Delegate Joseline Pena-Melnyk, District 21
Delegate Shane E. Pendergrass, District 13
Delegate James E. Proctor, Jr., District 27A
Delegate Samuel I. Rosenberg, District 41
Delegate Justin D. Ross, District 22
Delegate Todd Schuler, District 8
Delegate Dana Stein, District 11
Delegate Frank S. Turner, District 13
Delegate Jeff Waldstreicher, District 18

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Abandoned Property
Auditors and Audits
Campaign Financing
Circuit Courts
Civil Actions -see also- Small Claims
Committees and Commissions -see also- Political Committees
Crimes and Punishments -see also- Penalties; Sentences; etc.
Elections -see also- Ballots; Camp Financ; Pol Cands; Voting
Elections, State Board of
Electronic Government
General Assembly -see also- AELR Cmte; Leg Policy Committee.
Income Tax
Judicial Review -see also- Appeals
Political Candidates
Political Parties
Public Information
Revenue and Taxes -see also- Dev Fees &Taxes; specific tax
Rules and Regulations

Bill affects the following Statutes:

Commercial Law
( 17-317 )
Election Law
( 13-235 , 15.5-101 , 15.5-102 , 15.5-103 , 15.5-104 , 15.5-105 , 15.5-106 , 15.5-107 , 15.5-108 , 15.5-109 , 15.5-110 , 15.5-111 , 15.5-112 , 15.5-113 , 15.5-114 , 15.5-115 , 15.5-116 , 15.5-117 , 15.5-118 , 15.5-119 , 15.5-120 , 15.5-121 )


Bill Text (Displayed in PDF Format): First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal and Policy Note (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Amendments: None offered