2007 Regular Session


File Code: Taxes - Miscellaneous
Sponsored By:
Delegates Hixson, Barkley, Barve, Dumais, Elmore, Gilchrist, Hucker, Kaiser, Lawton, Manno, McIntosh, Montgomery, Rice, Ross, Simmons, Stukes, Bartlett, Cardin, Doory, George, Howard, Ivey, Jennings, N. King, Krebs, McKee, Murphy, Olszewski, F. Turner, and Walker
Maryland Heritage Structure Rehabilitation Tax Credit Program


Altering provisions for the award of initial credit certificates under the Heritage Tax Credit; requiring the Director of the Maryland Historical Trust to adopt regulations to establish criteria for plans of proposed rehabilitation for purposes of the Maryland heritage structure rehabilitation tax credits; increasing from 50 percent to 75 percent the percentage of the total credits under initial credit certificates for any fiscal year that may be issued for projects in a single jurisdiction; extending the credit to July 1, 2010; etc.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

House Action
First Reading Ways and Means
Hearing 3/15 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Ways and Means
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed (135-0)
Returned Passed
Senate Action
First Reading Budget and Taxation
Hearing 3/29 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable Report by Budget and Taxation
Favorable Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed
Third Reading Passed (47-0)
Action after passage in House and Senate
Approved by the Governor
- Chapter 567

Sponsored by:

Delegate Sheila E. Hixson, District 20
Delegate Charles Barkley, District 39
Delegate Joseph R. Bartlett, District 4A
Delegate Kumar P. Barve, District 17
Delegate Jon S. Cardin, District 11
Delegate Ann Marie Doory, District 43
Delegate Kathleen M. Dumais, District 15
Delegate D. Page Elmore, District 38A
Delegate Ronald A. George, District 30
Delegate Jim Gilchrist, District 17
Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate Tom Hucker, District 20
Delegate Jolene Ivey, District 47
Delegate J. B. Jennings, District 7
Delegate Anne R. Kaiser, District 14
Delegate Nancy J. King, District 39
Delegate Susan W. Krebs, District 9B
Delegate Jane E. Lawton, District 18
Delegate Roger Manno, District 19
Delegate Maggie McIntosh, District 43
Delegate Robert A. McKee, District 2A
Delegate Karen S. Montgomery, District 14
Delegate Peter Murphy, District 28
Delegate John A. Olszewski, Jr., District 6
Delegate Craig L. Rice, District 15
Delegate Justin D. Ross, District 22
Delegate Luiz R. S. Simmons, District 17
Delegate Melvin Stukes, District 44
Delegate Frank S. Turner, District 13
Delegate Jay Walker, District 26

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Administrative Agencies -see also- Electronic Government
Commercial Rehabilitation
Counties -see also- Chartered Counties; Code Counties
Fees -see also- Devt Fees and Taxes; Reimbursement Rates
Historical Matters
Nonprofit Organizations
Rules and Regulations
Tax Credits -see also- Circuit Breaker

Bill affects the following Statute:

State Finance and Procurement
( 5A-303 )


Bill Text (Displayed in PDF Format): First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled, Chapter
Fiscal and Policy Note (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Amendments (Displayed in PDF Format):
Number: 485067/02     Offered on: March 22, 2007   at: 11:58 a.m.     Status: Adopted
Roll Call Votes (Legislative dates are shown):
March 20, 2007: Third Reading Passed (135-0)
April 2, 2007: Third Reading Passed (47-0)