2007 Regular Session


File Code: Taxes - Property
Sponsored By:
Delegates Pena-Melnyk, Barnes, Ali, Benson, Braveboy, Bronrott, Conaway, Davis, Feldman, Frush, Gaines, Griffith, Healey, Holmes, Hubbard, Hucker, Ivey, Kaiser, Kramer, Kullen, Lawton, Lee, Levi, Manno, Mizeur, Montgomery, Niemann, Proctor, Ramirez, Robinson, Ross, Valderrama, Vallario, Vaughn, Walker, and Weldon
Municipal Corporation Property Tax - Property Used for Student Housing


Providing that specified property that is leased from the State and used to provide housing to students of a public senior higher education institution is subject to municipal corporation property tax unless exempted in full or in part by the governing body of the municipal corporation; providing an exception to a property tax exemption for property that is leased from the State and used to provide specified student housing; applying the Act to tax years beginning after June 30, 2007; etc.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

House Action
First Reading Ways and Means
Hearing 2/20 at 1:00 p.m.
Unfavorable Report by Ways and Means
Senate Action
No Action

Sponsored by:

Delegate Joseline Pena-Melnyk, District 21
Delegate Saqib Ali, District 39
Delegate Ben Barnes, District 21
Delegate Joanne C. Benson, District 24
Delegate Aisha N. Braveboy, District 25
Delegate William A. Bronrott, District 16
Delegate Frank M. Conaway, Jr., District 40
Delegate Dereck E. Davis, District 25
Delegate Brian J. Feldman, District 15
Delegate Barbara Frush, District 21
Delegate Tawanna P. Gaines, District 22
Delegate Melony G. Griffith, District 25
Delegate Anne Healey, District 22
Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr., District 23B
Delegate James W. Hubbard, District 23A
Delegate Tom Hucker, District 20
Delegate Jolene Ivey, District 47
Delegate Anne R. Kaiser, District 14
Delegate Benjamin F. Kramer, District 19
Delegate Sue Kullen, District 27B
Delegate Jane E. Lawton, District 18
Delegate Susan C. Lee, District 16
Delegate Gerron Levi, District 23A
Delegate Roger Manno, District 19
Delegate Heather Mizeur, District 20
Delegate Karen S. Montgomery, District 14
Delegate Doyle L. Niemann, District 47
Delegate James E. Proctor, Jr., District 27A
Delegate Victor R. Ramirez, District 47
Delegate Barbara Robinson, District 40
Delegate Justin D. Ross, District 22
Delegate Kriselda Valderrama, District 26
Delegate Joseph F. Vallario, Jr., District 27A
Delegate Michael L. Vaughn, District 24
Delegate Jay Walker, District 26
Delegate Richard B. Weldon, Jr., District 3B

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Housing -see also- Apartments; Condominiums; Mobile Homes
Municipal Corporations -see also- Annap; Balt; Hager; OC
Property Tax
State Universities and Colleges

Bill affects the following Statutes:

Tax - Property
( 7-109 , 7-211 )


Bill Text (Displayed in PDF Format): First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal and Policy Note (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Amendments: None offered