2007 Regular Session


File Code: Agriculture
Sponsored By:
Delegates Stull, Bartlett, Bates, Beitzel, Boteler, Cane, G. Clagett, V. Clagett, Eckardt, Elliott, Elmore, Glassman, Haddaway, Hecht, Jameson, Jennings, Kach, Krebs, Kullen, Lawton, Levy, McConkey, McKee, Myers, O'Donnell, Rudolph, Shewell, Smigiel, Sossi, Stifler, Stocksdale, Weir, Weldon, and Wood
Department of Agriculture - Employment - Exemption from Ethics Restrictions


Authorizing a person who owns or operates a farm that is subject to the regulatory authority of the Department of Agriculture to be employed by the Department, subject to a specified restriction; requiring the Department, in consultation with the State Ethics Commission, to adopt specified regulations; and requiring the Department and the Commission to prepare and submit a specified report to the General Assembly.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

House Action
First Reading Environmental Matters
Hearing 2/20 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Environmental Matters
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed (136-1)
House Concur - Senate Amendments
Third Reading Passed (138-0)
Passed Enrolled
Senate Action
First Reading Education Health and Environmental Affairs
Hearing 3/29 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Education Health and Environmental Affairs
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed with Amendments (46-0)
Action after passage in House and Senate
Approved by the Governor
- Chapter 414

Sponsored by:

Delegate Paul S. Stull, District 4A
Delegate Joseph R. Bartlett, District 4A
Delegate Gail H. Bates, District 9A
Delegate Wendell R. Beitzel, District 1A
Delegate Joseph C. Boteler, III, District 8
Delegate Rudolph C. Cane, District 37A
Delegate Virginia P. Clagett, District 30
Delegate Galen R. Clagett, District 3A
Delegate Adelaide C. Eckardt, District 37
Delegate Donald B. Elliott, District 4B
Delegate D. Page Elmore, District 38A
Delegate Barry Glassman, District 35A
Delegate Jeannie Haddaway, District 37B
Delegate Sue Hecht, District 3A
Delegate Sally Jameson, District 28
Delegate J. B. Jennings, District 7
Delegate Wade Kach, District 5
Delegate Susan W. Krebs, District 9B
Delegate Sue Kullen, District 27B
Delegate Jane E. Lawton, District 18
Delegate Murray D. Levy, District 28
Delegate Tony McConkey, District 33A
Delegate Robert A. McKee, District 2A
Delegate LeRoy E. Myers, Jr., District 1C
Delegate Anthony J. O'Donnell, District 29C
Delegate David D. Rudolph, District 34B
Delegate Tanya Shewell, District 5A
Delegate Michael D. Smigiel, Sr., District 36
Delegate Richard A. Sossi, District 36
Delegate Donna Stifler, District 35A
Delegate Nancy R. Stocksdale, District 5A
Delegate Michael H. Weir, Jr., District 6
Delegate Richard B. Weldon, Jr., District 3B
Delegate John F. Wood, Jr., District 29A

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Agriculture, Department of
Agriculture -see also- Farmland
Committees and Commissions -see also- Political Committees
Public Officials -see also- Atty Gen; Compt; Coun Admin; etc
Rules and Regulations
State Employees

Bill affects the following Statute:

( 2-102 )


Bill Text (Displayed in PDF Format): First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled, Chapter
Fiscal and Policy Note (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Amendments (Displayed in PDF Format):
Number: 240411/01     Offered on: March 16, 2007   at: 11:45 a.m.     Status: Adopted
Number: 744035/01     Offered on: April 9, 2007   at: 10:39 a.m.     Status: Adopted
Roll Call Votes (Legislative dates are shown):
March 17, 2007: Third Reading Passed (136-1)
April 6, 2007: Third Reading Passed (138-0)
April 3, 2007: Third Reading Passed (46-0)