2007 Regular Session


File Code: Taxes - Sales and Use Prior Year Introduction As: HB 1004/06 - W&M
Sponsored By:
Delegates Bronrott, Ali, Barkley, Bartlett, Barve, Bobo, Bromwell, V. Clagett, Donoghue, Doory, Eckardt, Elmore, Feldman, Frush, George, Goldwater, Haddaway, Hixson, Holmes, Howard, Hubbard, Hucker, James, Jennings, N. King, Krebs, Lawton, Lee, Manno, McComas, McKee, Mizeur, Montgomery, Morhaim, Murphy, Olszewski, Pendergrass, Rice, Ross, Simmons, Smigiel, Sophocleus, Stein, Taylor, Waldstreicher, Cardin, Gilchrist, Ivey, Kaiser, Stukes, and Walker
Sales and Use Tax - Tax-Free Period for the Purchase of Energy Efficient Products


Providing an exemption from the sales and use tax during the period of October 5 and October 6, 2007, for the sale of specified appliances and products that meet or exceed applicable energy efficiency guidelines and solar water heaters; repealing obsolete provisions; etc.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

House Action
First Reading Ways and Means
Hearing 2/27 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Ways and Means
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed (136-0)
Senate Action
First Reading Budget and Taxation
Hearing 3/29 at 1:00 p.m.
Unfavorable Report by Budget and Taxation

Sponsored by:

Delegate William A. Bronrott, District 16
Delegate Saqib Ali, District 39
Delegate Charles Barkley, District 39
Delegate Joseph R. Bartlett, District 4A
Delegate Kumar P. Barve, District 17
Delegate Elizabeth Bobo, District 12B
Delegate Eric M. Bromwell, District 8
Delegate Jon S. Cardin, District 11
Delegate Virginia P. Clagett, District 30
Delegate John P. Donoghue, District 2C
Delegate Ann Marie Doory, District 43
Delegate Adelaide C. Eckardt, District 37
Delegate D. Page Elmore, District 38A
Delegate Brian J. Feldman, District 15
Delegate Barbara Frush, District 21
Delegate Ronald A. George, District 30
Delegate Jim Gilchrist, District 17
Delegate Marilyn R. Goldwater, District 16
Delegate Jeannie Haddaway, District 37B
Delegate Sheila E. Hixson, District 20
Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr., District 23B
Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate James W. Hubbard, District 23A
Delegate Tom Hucker, District 20
Delegate Jolene Ivey, District 47
Delegate Mary-Dulany James, District 34A
Delegate J. B. Jennings, District 7
Delegate Anne R. Kaiser, District 14
Delegate Nancy J. King, District 39
Delegate Susan W. Krebs, District 9B
Delegate Jane E. Lawton, District 18
Delegate Susan C. Lee, District 16
Delegate Roger Manno, District 19
Delegate Susan K. McComas, District 35B
Delegate Robert A. McKee, District 2A
Delegate Heather Mizeur, District 20
Delegate Karen S. Montgomery, District 14
Delegate Dan K. Morhaim, District 11
Delegate Peter Murphy, District 28
Delegate John A. Olszewski, Jr., District 6
Delegate Shane E. Pendergrass, District 13
Delegate Craig L. Rice, District 15
Delegate Justin D. Ross, District 22
Delegate Luiz R. S. Simmons, District 17
Delegate Michael D. Smigiel, Sr., District 36
Delegate Theodore Sophocleus, District 32
Delegate Dana Stein, District 11
Delegate Melvin Stukes, District 44
Delegate Herman L. Taylor, Jr., District 14
Delegate Jeff Waldstreicher, District 18
Delegate Jay Walker, District 26

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Energy Matters -see also- Fuel; Power Plants; Solar Energy
Equipment -see also- Motor Vehicle Equipment
Heating and Cooling
Sales and Use Tax
Solar Energy

Bill affects the following Statute:

Tax - General
( 11-226 )


Bill Text (Displayed in PDF Format): First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal and Policy Note (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Amendments (Displayed in PDF Format):
Number: 135069/01     Offered on: March 24, 2007   at: 1:11 p.m.     Status: Adopted
Roll Call Vote (Legislative date is shown):
March 22, 2007: Third Reading Passed (136-0)