2007 Regular Session


File Code: Taxes - Property Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 522
Sponsored By:
Delegates Kaiser, Aumann, Barnes, Beidle, V. Clagett, Conway, Frush, Gaines, Gilchrist, Healey, Hubbard, Lawton, Love, Mathias, Montgomery, Niemann, Pena-Melnyk, Riley, Ross, Simmons, Sophocleus, Waldstreicher, Walker, Bartlett, Barve, Cardin, Doory, Elmore, George, Hixson, Howard, Ivey, Jennings, N. King, Krebs, McKee, Murphy, Olszewski, Rice, Stukes, and F. Turner
Homestead Tax Credit - Eligibility Verification - Application


Requiring homeowners to file applications to the State Department of Assessments and Taxation to qualify for the homestead property tax credit; providing that the homestead property tax credit may not be granted unless an application is filed as required within 180 days following the transfer of property for consideration to new ownership after December 31, 2007, or on or before December 31, 2012, for property last transferred for consideration to new ownership on or before December 31, 2007; etc.

History by Legislative and Calendar Date

House Action
First Reading Ways and Means
Hearing 2/22 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Ways and Means
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed (139-0)
House Concur - Senate Amendments
Third Reading Passed (139-0)
Passed Enrolled
Senate Action
First Reading Budget and Taxation
Hearing 3/28 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Budget and Taxation
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed with Amendments (47-0)
Action after passage in House and Senate
Approved by the Governor
- Chapter 565

Sponsored by:

Delegate Anne R. Kaiser, District 14
Delegate Susan L. M. Aumann, District 42
Delegate Ben Barnes, District 21
Delegate Joseph R. Bartlett, District 4A
Delegate Kumar P. Barve, District 17
Delegate Pamela Beidle, District 32
Delegate Jon S. Cardin, District 11
Delegate Virginia P. Clagett, District 30
Delegate Norman H. Conway, District 38B
Delegate Ann Marie Doory, District 43
Delegate D. Page Elmore, District 38A
Delegate Barbara Frush, District 21
Delegate Tawanna P. Gaines, District 22
Delegate Ronald A. George, District 30
Delegate Jim Gilchrist, District 17
Delegate Anne Healey, District 22
Delegate Sheila E. Hixson, District 20
Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate James W. Hubbard, District 23A
Delegate Jolene Ivey, District 47
Delegate J. B. Jennings, District 7
Delegate Nancy J. King, District 39
Delegate Susan W. Krebs, District 9B
Delegate Jane E. Lawton, District 18
Delegate Mary Ann E. Love, District 32
Delegate James N. Mathias, Jr., District 38B
Delegate Robert A. McKee, District 2A
Delegate Karen S. Montgomery, District 14
Delegate Peter Murphy, District 28
Delegate Doyle L. Niemann, District 47
Delegate John A. Olszewski, Jr., District 6
Delegate Joseline Pena-Melnyk, District 21
Delegate Craig L. Rice, District 15
Delegate B. Daniel Riley, District 34A
Delegate Justin D. Ross, District 22
Delegate Luiz R. S. Simmons, District 17
Delegate Theodore Sophocleus, District 32
Delegate Melvin Stukes, District 44
Delegate Frank S. Turner, District 13
Delegate Jeff Waldstreicher, District 18
Delegate Jay Walker, District 26

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

Assessments and Taxation, Department of
Auditors and Audits
Counties -see also- Chartered Counties; Code Counties
Electronic Government
Local Government Mandates
Municipal Corporations -see also- Annap; Balt; Hager; OC
Property Tax
Tax Credits -see also- Circuit Breaker

Bill affects the following Statutes:

Tax - Property
( 9-105 , 9-105 )


Bill Text (Displayed in PDF Format): First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled, Chapter
Fiscal and Policy Note (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Amendments (Displayed in PDF Format):
Number: 355262/01     Offered on: March 20, 2007   at: 10:45 a.m.     Status: Adopted
Number: 669639/01     Offered on: April 4, 2007   at: 11:52 a.m.     Status: Adopted
Roll Call Votes (Legislative dates are shown):
March 18, 2007: Third Reading Passed (139-0)
April 1, 2007: Third Reading Passed (139-0)