2006 Regular Session


CHAPTER NUMBER: 220 File Code: Vehicle Laws - Drunk Driving Prior Year Introduction As: HB 252/05 - JUD Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 228
Sponsored By:
The Speaker (By Request - Administration) and Delegates Aumann, Bartlett, Benson, Bohanan, Boschert, Boteler, Bromwell, Bronrott, Burns, Cardin, Cluster, Conroy, Cryor, DeBoy, Donoghue, Dumais, Dwyer, Eckardt, Edwards, Elliott, Elmore, Frank, Gilleland, Glassman, Haddaway, Harrison, Heller, Hogan, Jameson, Jennings, Kach, Kelley, Kelly, King, Kohl, Krebs, Kullen, Leopold, Malone, Mayer, McComas, McConkey, McHale, McKee, McMillan, Miller, Minnick, Moe, Morhaim, Murray, Myers, O'Donnell, Paige, Parker, Parrott, Rosenberg, Shank, Shewell, Smigiel, Sophocleus, Sossi, Stocksdale, Stull, Taylor, Trueschler, V. Turner, Vallario, Weir, Weldon, and Zirkin
Drunk and Drugged Driving - Young Drivers - License Suspension


Requiring the Motor Vehicle Administration to suspend for a specified period of time the driver's license of a person who is adjudicated delinquent or found to have committed a delinquent act without an adjudication of delinquency by reason of a violation of specified alcohol- or drug-related driving offenses or who is under a specified age and is convicted of specified alcohol- or drug-related driving offenses; etc.

History by Legislative Date

House Action
First Reading Judiciary
Hearing 2/21 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable with Amendments Report by Judiciary
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed (136-1)
House Concur - Senate Amendments
Third Reading Passed (134-1)
Passed Enrolled
Senate Action
First Reading Judicial Proceedings
Favorable with Amendments Report by Judicial Proceedings
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Motion Returned Second Reading (Senator Jimeno) Adopted
Committee Amendment (Judicial Proceedings) Withdrawn
Floor Committee Amendment (Judicial Proceedings) Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Motion two readings same day Const/Rule 24 Adopted
Third Reading Passed with Amendments (40-7)
Action after passage in House and Senate
Signed by the Governor Chapter 220

Sponsored by:

Speaker of the House of Delegates
Delegate Susan L. M. Aumann, District 42
Delegate Joseph R. Bartlett, District 4A
Delegate Joanne C. Benson, District 24
Delegate John L. Bohanan, Jr., District 29B
Delegate David G. Boschert, District 33A
Delegate Joseph C. Boteler, III, District 8
Delegate Eric M. Bromwell, District 8
Delegate William A. Bronrott, District 16
Delegate Emmett C. Burns, Jr., District 10
Delegate Jon S. Cardin, District 11
Delegate John W. E. Cluster, Jr., District 8
Delegate Mary A. Conroy, District 23A
Delegate Jean B. Cryor, District 15
Delegate Steven J. DeBoy, Sr., District 12A
Delegate John P. Donoghue, District 2C
Delegate Kathleen M. Dumais, District 15
Delegate Donald H. Dwyer, Jr., District 31
Delegate Adelaide C. Eckardt, District 37B
Delegate George C. Edwards, District 1A
Delegate Donald B. Elliott, District 4B
Delegate D. Page Elmore, District 38A
Delegate William J. Frank, District 42
Delegate Terry R. Gilleland, Jr., District 32
Delegate Barry Glassman, District 35A
Delegate Jeannie Haddaway, District 37B
Delegate Hattie N. Harrison, District 45
Delegate Henry B. Heller, District 19
Delegate Patrick N. Hogan, District 3A
Delegate Sally Jameson, District 28
Delegate J. B. Jennings, District 7
Delegate Wade Kach, District 5B
Delegate Darryl A. Kelley, District 26
Delegate Kevin Kelly, District 1B
Delegate Nancy J. King, District 39
Delegate Sheryl Davis Kohl, District 34A
Delegate Susan W. Krebs, District 9B
Delegate Sue Kullen, District 27B
Delegate John R. Leopold, District 31
Delegate James E. Malone, Jr., District 12A
Delegate Wm. Daniel Mayer, District 28
Delegate Susan K. McComas, District 35B
Delegate Tony McConkey, District 33A
Delegate Brian K. McHale, District 46
Delegate Robert A. McKee, District 2A
Delegate Herb McMillan, District 30
Delegate Warren E. Miller, District 9A
Delegate Joseph J. Minnick, District 6
Delegate Brian R. Moe, District 21
Delegate Dan K. Morhaim, District 11
Delegate Gareth E. Murray, District 20
Delegate LeRoy E. Myers, Jr., District 1C
Delegate Anthony J. O'Donnell, District 29C
Delegate Jeffrey A. Paige, District 44
Delegate Rosetta C. Parker, District 47
Delegate Joanne S. Parrott, District 35A
Delegate Samuel I. Rosenberg, District 41
Delegate Christopher B. Shank, District 2B
Delegate Tanya T. Shewell, District 5A
Delegate Michael D. Smigiel, Sr., District 36
Delegate Theodore Sophocleus, District 32
Delegate Richard A. Sossi, District 36
Delegate Nancy R. Stocksdale, District 5A
Delegate Paul S. Stull, District 4A
Delegate Herman L. Taylor, Jr., District 14
Delegate John G. Trueschler, District 42
Delegate Veronica Turner, District 26
Delegate Joseph F. Vallario, Jr., District 27A
Delegate Michael H. Weir, Jr., District 6
Delegate Richard B. Weldon, Jr., District 3B
Delegate Bobby A. Zirkin, District 11

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

YOUTH -see also- MINORS

Bill affects the following Statutes:

Courts and Judicial Proceedings
( 3-8A-23 )
( 16-205 , 16-206 , 16-208 , 16-213 , 21-902 )


Bill Text (Displayed in PDF Format): First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal Note (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Amendments (Displayed in WordPerfect 8 Format):
Number: 382419/01 (PDF)     Offered on: March 24, 2006   at: 11:49 a.m.     Status: Adopted
Number: 048177/01 (PDF)     Offered on: April 10, 2006   at: 11:14 a.m.     Status: Adopted
Number: 648279/01 (PDF)     Offered on: April 10, 2006   at: 11:14 a.m.     Status: Withdrawn
Roll Call Votes (Legislative dates are shown):
March 23, 2006: Third Reading Passed (136-1)
April 7, 2006: Third Reading Passed (134-1)
April 5, 2006: Third Reading Passed (40-7)