May 26, 2005

The Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr.
President of the Senate
State House
Annapolis, MD 21401

Dear Mr. President:

In accordance with Article II, Section 17 of the Maryland Constitution, today I have vetoed Senate Bill 18 - St. Mary's County - Property Tax - Credit for Individuals over Age 70.

This bill authorizes the governing body of St. Mary's County to grant, by law, a tax credit against the county property tax imposed on specified real property owned by individuals at least 70 years old and of limited income. The bill also authorizes the governing body of St. Mary's County to provide, by law, for eligibility criteria for the credit, the amount and duration of the tax credit, regulations and procedures, and any other provision necessary to carry out the credit as well as making the Act applicable to specified taxable years. House Bill 121, which was passed by the General Assembly and signed by me, accomplishes the same purpose. Therefore, it is not necessary for me to sign Senate Bill 18.

Very truly yours,
Robert L. Ehrlich, Jr.