2005 Regular Session


CHAPTER NUMBER: 545 File Code: Vehicle Laws - Licensing and Registration Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 816
Sponsored By:
Delegates Bronrott, Mandel, G. Clagett, Cryor, Sossi, Anderson, Barkley, Barve, Benson, Bobo, Bohanan, Boschert, Boteler, Boutin, Bozman, Bromwell, Cardin, V. Clagett, Cluster, Conway, Donoghue, Dumais, Eckardt, Edwards, Elmore, Feldman, Franchot, Frank, Frush, Fulton, Gaines, Glassman, Goldwater, Haddaway, Hammen, Hixson, Hogan, Holmes, Hurson, James, Jennings, Jones, Kach, Kelley, King, Kullen, Lee, Leopold, Madaleno, Marriott, McComas, McConkey, McDonough, McHale, McKee, Menes, Miller, Moe, Montgomery, Murray, Nathan-Pulliam, Paige, Parker, Parrott, Patterson, Pendergrass, Petzold, Ross, Shank, Shewell, Stern, Taylor, V. Turner, Weir, and Weldon
Vehicle Laws - Driver Examination - Practice Driving Requirements


Requiring an individual who holds a learner's instructional driving permit to complete at least 60 hours of driving practice with a driver's license holder who is at least 21 years of age and has been licensed for at least 3 years; requiring at least 10 of the hours of practice driving required by the Act to occur during nighttime; and requiring a practice driving skills log to be signed by an individual certifying that the practice driving requirements of the Act have been fulfilled.

History by Legislative Date

House Action
First Reading Environmental Matters
Hearing 2/9 at 1:00 p.m.
Favorable Report by Environmental Matters
Favorable Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed
Third Reading Passed (135-0)
Returned Passed
Senate Action
First Reading Judicial Proceedings
Favorable Report by Judicial Proceedings
Favorable Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed
Third Reading Passed (37-10)
Action after passage in House and Senate
Signed by the Governor Chapter 545

Sponsored by:

Delegate William A. Bronrott, District 16
Delegate Curt Anderson, District 43
Delegate Charles Barkley, District 39
Delegate Kumar P. Barve, District 17
Delegate Joanne C. Benson, District 24
Delegate Elizabeth Bobo, District 12B
Delegate John L. Bohanan, Jr., District 29B
Delegate David G. Boschert, District 33A
Delegate Joseph C. Boteler, III, District 8
Delegate Charles R. Boutin, District 34A
Delegate K. Bennett Bozman, District 38B
Delegate Eric M. Bromwell, District 8
Delegate Jon S. Cardin, District 11
Delegate Virginia P. Clagett, District 30
Delegate Galen R. Clagett, District 3A
Delegate John W. E. Cluster, Jr., District 8
Delegate Norman H. Conway, District 38B
Delegate Jean B. Cryor, District 15
Delegate John P. Donoghue, District 2C
Delegate Kathleen M. Dumais, District 15
Delegate Adelaide C. Eckardt, District 37B
Delegate George C. Edwards, District 1A
Delegate D. Page Elmore, District 38A
Delegate Brian J. Feldman, District 15
Delegate Peter Franchot, District 20
Delegate William J. Frank, District 42
Delegate Barbara Frush, District 21
Delegate Tony E. Fulton, District 40
Delegate Tawanna P. Gaines, District 22
Delegate Barry Glassman, District 35A
Delegate Marilyn R. Goldwater, District 16
Delegate Jeannie Haddaway, District 37B
Delegate Peter A. Hammen, District 46
Delegate Sheila E. Hixson, District 20
Delegate Patrick N. Hogan, District 3A
Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr., District 23B
Delegate John Adams Hurson, District 18
Delegate Mary-Dulany James, District 34A
Delegate J. B. Jennings, District 7
Delegate Adrienne A. Jones, District 10
Delegate Wade Kach, District 5B
Delegate Darryl A. Kelley, District 26
Delegate Nancy J. King, District 39
Delegate Sue Kullen, District 27B
Delegate Susan C. Lee, District 16
Delegate John R. Leopold, District 31
Delegate Richard S. Madaleno, Jr., District 18
Delegate Adrienne A. Mandel, District 19
Delegate Salima Siler Marriott, District 40
Delegate Susan K. McComas, District 35B
Delegate Tony McConkey, District 33A
Delegate Pat McDonough, District 7
Delegate Brian K. McHale, District 46
Delegate Robert A. McKee, District 2A
Delegate Pauline H. Menes, District 21
Delegate Warren E. Miller, District 9A
Delegate Brian R. Moe, District 21
Delegate Karen S. Montgomery, District 14
Delegate Gareth E. Murray, District 20
Delegate Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, District 10
Delegate Jeffrey A. Paige, District 44
Delegate Rosetta C. Parker, District 47
Delegate Joanne S. Parrott, District 35A
Delegate Obie Patterson, District 26
Delegate Shane E. Pendergrass, District 13
Delegate Carol S. Petzold, District 19
Delegate Justin D. Ross, District 22
Delegate Christopher B. Shank, District 2B
Delegate Tanya T. Shewell, District 5A
Delegate Richard A. Sossi, District 36
Delegate Joan F. Stern, District 39
Delegate Herman L. Taylor, Jr., District 14
Delegate Veronica Turner, District 26
Delegate Michael H. Weir, Jr., District 6
Delegate Richard B. Weldon, Jr., District 3B

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:


Bill affects the following Statute:

( 16-105 )


Bill Text (Displayed in PDF Format): First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal Note (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Amendments: None offered
Roll Call Votes (Legislative dates are shown):
March 17, 2005: Third Reading Passed (135-0)
April 5, 2005: Third Reading Passed (37-10)