2005 Regular Session


File Code: Vehicle Laws - Drunk Driving Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 207
Sponsored By:
The Speaker (By Request - Administration) and Delegates Aumann, Bartlett, Bates, Benson, Bohanan, Boschert, Boteler, Boutin, Bromwell, Bronrott, Cadden, Carter, Cluster, Conroy, Costa, Cryor, DeBoy, Donoghue, Eckardt, Edwards, Elliott, Elmore, Frank, Fulton, Haddaway, Hammen, Hogan, James, Jameson, Jennings, Kelly, Krebs, Kullen, Leopold, Mandel, Marriott, McComas, McHale, McKee, McMillan, Miller, Minnick, Murray, Myers, Nathan-Pulliam, O'Donnell, Paige, Shank, Shewell, Smigiel, Stocksdale, Stull, Taylor, Trueschler, Walkup, Weir, Weldon, Mayer, and Kaiser
Drunk and Drugged Driving - Young Drivers - License Suspension


Requiring the Motor Vehicle Administration to suspend for a specified period of time the driver's license of a person who is adjudicated delinquent or found to have committed a delinquent act without an adjudication of delinquency by reason of a violation of specified alcohol- or drug-related driving offenses or who is under a specified age and is convicted of specified alcohol- or drug-related driving offenses; etc.

History by Legislative Date

House Action
First Reading Judiciary
Hearing 3/2 at 1:00 p.m.

Favorable with Amendments Report by Judiciary
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed (134-0)
Senate Action
First Reading Judicial Proceedings

Sponsored by:

Speaker of the House of Delegates
Delegate Susan L. M. Aumann, District 42
Delegate Joseph R. Bartlett, District 4A
Delegate Gail H. Bates, District 9A
Delegate Joanne C. Benson, District 24
Delegate John L. Bohanan, Jr., District 29B
Delegate David G. Boschert, District 33A
Delegate Joseph C. Boteler, III, District 8
Delegate Charles R. Boutin, District 34A
Delegate Eric M. Bromwell, District 8
Delegate William A. Bronrott, District 16
Delegate Joan Cadden, District 31
Delegate Jill P. Carter, District 41
Delegate John W. E. Cluster, Jr., District 8
Delegate Mary A. Conroy, District 23A
Delegate Robert A. Costa, District 33B
Delegate Jean B. Cryor, District 15
Delegate Steven J. DeBoy, Sr., District 12A
Delegate John P. Donoghue, District 2C
Delegate Adelaide C. Eckardt, District 37B
Delegate George C. Edwards, District 1A
Delegate Donald B. Elliott, District 4B
Delegate D. Page Elmore, District 38A
Delegate William J. Frank, District 42
Delegate Tony E. Fulton, District 40
Delegate Jeannie Haddaway, District 37B
Delegate Peter A. Hammen, District 46
Delegate Patrick N. Hogan, District 3A
Delegate Mary-Dulany James, District 34A
Delegate Sally Jameson, District 28
Delegate J. B. Jennings, District 7
Delegate Anne R. Kaiser, District 14
Delegate Kevin Kelly, District 1B
Delegate Susan W. Krebs, District 9B
Delegate Sue Kullen, District 27B
Delegate John R. Leopold, District 31
Delegate Adrienne A. Mandel, District 19
Delegate Salima Siler Marriott, District 40
Delegate William D. Mayer, District 35B
Delegate Susan K. McComas, District 35B
Delegate Brian K. McHale, District 46
Delegate Robert A. McKee, District 2A
Delegate Herb McMillan, District 30
Delegate Warren E. Miller, District 9A
Delegate Joseph J. Minnick, District 6
Delegate Gareth E. Murray, District 20
Delegate LeRoy E. Myers, Jr., District 1C
Delegate Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, District 10
Delegate Anthony J. O'Donnell, District 29C
Delegate Jeffrey A. Paige, District 44
Delegate Christopher B. Shank, District 2B
Delegate Tanya T. Shewell, District 5A
Delegate Michael D. Smigiel, Sr., District 36
Delegate Nancy R. Stocksdale, District 5A
Delegate Paul S. Stull, District 4A
Delegate Herman L. Taylor, Jr., District 14
Delegate John G. Trueschler, District 42
Delegate Mary Roe Walkup, District 36
Delegate Michael H. Weir, Jr., District 6
Delegate Richard B. Weldon, Jr., District 3B

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

YOUTH -see also- MINORS

Bill affects the following Statutes:

Courts and Judicial Proceedings
( 3-8A-23 )
( 16-205 , 16-206 , 16-208 , 16-213 , 21-902 )


Bill Text (Displayed in PDF Format): First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal Note (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Amendments (Displayed in WordPerfect 8 Format):
Number: 682515/01 (PDF)     Offered on: March 22, 2005   at: 12:06 p.m.     Status: Adopted
Roll Call Vote (Legislative date is shown):
March 23, 2005: Third Reading Passed (134-0)