2005 Regular Session


File Code: Taxes - Income Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 211
Sponsored By:
The Speaker (By Request - Administration) and Delegates Love, Arnick, Aumann, Bartlett, Bates, Bohanan, Boschert, Boteler, Boutin, Cadden, Cluster, Conroy, Costa, Cryor, DeBoy, Donoghue, Doory, Dwyer, Eckardt, Edwards, Elliott, Elmore, Feldman, Frank, Fulton, Glassman, Goodwin, Hammen, Hennessy, Impallaria, Jameson, Jennings, Kach, Kelly, Krebs, Krysiak, Kullen, Leopold, Levy, McComas, McConkey, McDonough, McHale, McKee, McMillan, Miller, Minnick, Moe, Myers, Nathan-Pulliam, O'Donnell, Parrott, Ross, Rudolph, Shank, Shewell, Sossi, Stocksdale, Stull, Taylor, Trueschler, F. Turner, Walkup, Weir, Weldon, Wood, Bozman, Cardin, C. Davis, Gilleland, Healey, Hixson, Holmes, Howard, Hubbard, James, Kaiser, King, Mayer, Patterson, Petzold, Ramirez, and Smigiel
Income Tax - Subtraction Modification - Military Retirement Income


Altering a subtraction modification under the Maryland income tax for military retirement income; providing that retirement income that is included in the subtraction for military retirement income may not be taken into account for purposes of a subtraction modification allowed under the income tax for individuals who are at least 65 years old or who are disabled or have disabled spouses; defining specified terms; applying the Act to tax years beginning after December 31, 2006; etc.

History by Legislative Date

House Action
First Reading Ways and Means
Hearing 2/22 at 1:00 p.m.

Favorable with Amendments Report by Ways and Means
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Motion Reconsider Second Reading (Delegate Elliott) Rejected (64-68)
Third Reading Passed (137-0)
Senate Action
First Reading Budget and Taxation

Sponsored by:

Speaker of the House of Delegates
Delegate John S. Arnick, District 6
Delegate Susan L. M. Aumann, District 42
Delegate Joseph R. Bartlett, District 4A
Delegate Gail H. Bates, District 9A
Delegate John L. Bohanan, Jr., District 29B
Delegate David G. Boschert, District 33A
Delegate Joseph C. Boteler, III, District 8
Delegate Charles R. Boutin, District 34A
Delegate K. Bennett Bozman, District 38B
Delegate Joan Cadden, District 31
Delegate Jon S. Cardin, District 11
Delegate John W. E. Cluster, Jr., District 8
Delegate Mary A. Conroy, District 23A
Delegate Robert A. Costa, District 33B
Delegate Jean B. Cryor, District 15
Delegate Clarence Davis, District 45
Delegate Steven J. DeBoy, Sr., District 12A
Delegate John P. Donoghue, District 2C
Delegate Ann Marie Doory, District 43
Delegate Donald H. Dwyer, Jr., District 31
Delegate Adelaide C. Eckardt, District 37B
Delegate George C. Edwards, District 1A
Delegate Donald B. Elliott, District 4B
Delegate D. Page Elmore, District 38A
Delegate Brian J. Feldman, District 15
Delegate William J. Frank, District 42
Delegate Tony E. Fulton, District 40
Delegate Terry R. Gilleland, Jr., District 32
Delegate Barry Glassman, District 35A
Delegate Marshall T. Goodwin, District 40
Delegate Peter A. Hammen, District 46
Delegate Anne Healey, District 22
Delegate W. Louis Hennessy, District 28
Delegate Sheila E. Hixson, District 20
Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr., District 23B
Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate James W. Hubbard, District 23A
Delegate Rick Impallaria, District 7
Delegate Mary-Dulany James, District 34A
Delegate Sally Jameson, District 28
Delegate J. B. Jennings, District 7
Delegate Wade Kach, District 5B
Delegate Anne R. Kaiser, District 14
Delegate Kevin Kelly, District 1B
Delegate Nancy J. King, District 39
Delegate Susan W. Krebs, District 9B
Delegate Carolyn J. Krysiak, District 46
Delegate Sue Kullen, District 27B
Delegate John R. Leopold, District 31
Delegate Murray D. Levy, District 28
Delegate Mary Ann E. Love, District 32
Delegate William D. Mayer, District 35B
Delegate Susan K. McComas, District 35B
Delegate Tony McConkey, District 33A
Delegate Pat McDonough, District 7
Delegate Brian K. McHale, District 46
Delegate Robert A. McKee, District 2A
Delegate Herb McMillan, District 30
Delegate Warren E. Miller, District 9A
Delegate Joseph J. Minnick, District 6
Delegate Brian R. Moe, District 21
Delegate LeRoy E. Myers, Jr., District 1C
Delegate Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, District 10
Delegate Anthony J. O'Donnell, District 29C
Delegate Joanne S. Parrott, District 35A
Delegate Obie Patterson, District 26
Delegate Carol S. Petzold, District 19
Delegate Victor R. Ramirez, District 47
Delegate Justin D. Ross, District 22
Delegate David D. Rudolph, District 34B
Delegate Christopher B. Shank, District 2B
Delegate Tanya T. Shewell, District 5A
Delegate Michael D. Smigiel, Sr., District 36
Delegate Richard A. Sossi, District 36
Delegate Nancy R. Stocksdale, District 5A
Delegate Paul S. Stull, District 4A
Delegate Herman L. Taylor, Jr., District 14
Delegate John G. Trueschler, District 42
Delegate Frank S. Turner, District 13
Delegate Mary Roe Walkup, District 36
Delegate Michael H. Weir, Jr., District 6
Delegate Richard B. Weldon, Jr., District 3B
Delegate John F. Wood, Jr., District 29A

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:


Bill affects the following Statutes:

Tax - General
( 10-207 , 10-207 , 10-209 )


Bill Text (Displayed in PDF Format): First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal Note (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Amendments (Displayed in WordPerfect 8 Format):
Number: 755663/01 (PDF)     Offered on: March 24, 2005   at: 11:58 a.m.     Status: Adopted
Roll Call Votes (Legislative dates are shown):
March 24, 2005: Motion Reconsider Second Reading (Elliott) Rejected (64-68)
March 24, 2005: Third Reading Passed (137-0)