2005 Regular Session


File Code: Vehicle Laws - Licensing and Registration Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 209
Sponsored By:
The Speaker (By Request - Administration) and Delegates Aumann, Bartlett, Bates, Benson, Bohanan, Boschert, Boteler, Boutin, Bromwell, Bronrott, Carter, Cluster, Cryor, DeBoy, Eckardt, Edwards, Elliott, Elmore, Frank, Fulton, Haddaway, Hammen, Hogan, James, Jameson, Kach, Kelly, Krebs, Leopold, Mandel, Marriott, McComas, McConkey, McDonough, McHale, McKee, McMillan, Miller, Murray, Myers, Nathan-Pulliam, O'Donnell, Paige, Parrott, Shank, Shewell, Smigiel, Sossi, Stocksdale, Stull, Taylor, Walkup, and Weldon
Vehicle Laws - Learner's Instructional Permits and Provisional Licenses - Requirements and Task Force


Altering the minimum age required for eligibility for a provisional driver's license; extending from 4 months to 5 months the time period an individual is required to hold a learner's instructional permit before taking specified examinations to obtain a provisional driver's license; establishing a Task Force to Study Driver Education and Teen Driving Issues in Maryland ; etc.

History by Legislative Date

House Action
First Reading Environmental Matters
Hearing 2/1 at 2:00 p.m.
Hearing cancelled
Hearing 2/9 at 1:00 p.m.

Favorable with Amendments Report by Environmental Matters
Favorable with Amendments Report Adopted
Second Reading Passed with Amendments
Third Reading Passed (137-0)
Senate Action
First Reading Judicial Proceedings

Sponsored by:

Speaker of the House of Delegates
Delegate Susan L. M. Aumann, District 42
Delegate Joseph R. Bartlett, District 4A
Delegate Gail H. Bates, District 9A
Delegate Joanne C. Benson, District 24
Delegate John L. Bohanan, Jr., District 29B
Delegate David G. Boschert, District 33A
Delegate Joseph C. Boteler, III, District 8
Delegate Charles R. Boutin, District 34A
Delegate Eric M. Bromwell, District 8
Delegate William A. Bronrott, District 16
Delegate Jill P. Carter, District 41
Delegate John W. E. Cluster, Jr., District 8
Delegate Jean B. Cryor, District 15
Delegate Steven J. DeBoy, Sr., District 12A
Delegate Adelaide C. Eckardt, District 37B
Delegate George C. Edwards, District 1A
Delegate Donald B. Elliott, District 4B
Delegate D. Page Elmore, District 38A
Delegate William J. Frank, District 42
Delegate Tony E. Fulton, District 40
Delegate Jeannie Haddaway, District 37B
Delegate Peter A. Hammen, District 46
Delegate Patrick N. Hogan, District 3A
Delegate Mary-Dulany James, District 34A
Delegate Sally Jameson, District 28
Delegate Wade Kach, District 5B
Delegate Kevin Kelly, District 1B
Delegate Susan W. Krebs, District 9B
Delegate John R. Leopold, District 31
Delegate Adrienne A. Mandel, District 19
Delegate Salima Siler Marriott, District 40
Delegate Susan K. McComas, District 35B
Delegate Tony McConkey, District 33A
Delegate Pat McDonough, District 7
Delegate Brian K. McHale, District 46
Delegate Robert A. McKee, District 2A
Delegate Herb McMillan, District 30
Delegate Warren E. Miller, District 9A
Delegate Gareth E. Murray, District 20
Delegate LeRoy E. Myers, Jr., District 1C
Delegate Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, District 10
Delegate Anthony J. O'Donnell, District 29C
Delegate Jeffrey A. Paige, District 44
Delegate Joanne S. Parrott, District 35A
Delegate Christopher B. Shank, District 2B
Delegate Tanya T. Shewell, District 5A
Delegate Michael D. Smigiel, Sr., District 36
Delegate Richard A. Sossi, District 36
Delegate Nancy R. Stocksdale, District 5A
Delegate Paul S. Stull, District 4A
Delegate Herman L. Taylor, Jr., District 14
Delegate Mary Roe Walkup, District 36
Delegate Richard B. Weldon, Jr., District 3B

Bill indexed under the following Subjects:

YOUTH -see also- MINORS

Bill affects the following Statutes:

( 16-103 , 16-105 )


Bill Text (Displayed in PDF Format): First Reading, Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal Note (Displayed in PDF Format): Available
Amendments (Displayed in WordPerfect 8 Format):
Number: 460912/01 (PDF)     Offered on: March 15, 2005   at: 10:32 a.m.     Status: Adopted
Roll Call Vote (Legislative date is shown):
March 17, 2005: Third Reading Passed (137-0)