May 22, 2003

The Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr.
President of the Senate
State House
Annapolis MD 21401

Dear Mr. President:

In accordance with Article II, Section 17 of the Maryland Constitution, today I have vetoed Senate Bill 320 - Department of the Environment - Noise Control and Pollution.

This bill makes several changes relating to noise control and pollution provisions administered by the Maryland Department of the Environment. It also alters how members of the Environmental Noise Advisory Council are selected and adds two members to the Interagency Noise Control Committee.

House Bill 174, which was passed by the General Assembly and signed by me, accomplishes the same purpose. Therefore, it is not necessary for me to sign Senate Bill 320.

Robert L. Ehrlich, Jr.