2003 Regular Session


File Code: State Government - Agencies, Offices, and Officials Prior Year Introduction As: HB 237/02 - CGM
Sponsored By:
Delegates Amedori, Aumann, Bartlett, Bates, Boschert, Boteler, Boutin, Burns, Cadden, G. Clagett, V. Clagett, Conroy, Costa, C. Davis, DeBoy, Donoghue, Dwyer, Edwards, Elliott, Frank, Glassman, Harrison, Hogan, Hutchins, Impallaria, James, Jameson, Jennings, Kach, Kaiser, Kelly, Krebs, Love, McComas, McDonough, McHale, McKee, Minnick, Myers, O'Donnell, Owings, Parrott, Shank, Smigiel, Sossi, Stocksdale, Stull, Trueschler, F. Turner, and Weldon
State Government - Plaque Commemorating the Bataan Death March


Requiring that a plaque be placed in a specified location to honor the soldiers who were forced to participate in what has become known as the Bataan Death March during World War II; requiring the Governor to appoint the Secretary of Veterans Affairs to oversee the design, construction, and placement of the plaque; requiring the Governor to appropriate specified funds for the design, construction, and placement of the plaque; and generally relating to commemorating the soldiers forced to participate in the Bataan Death March.

History by Legislative Date

House Action
First Reading Health and Government Operations
Hearing 2/20 at 1:00 p.m.
Senate Action
No Action
Sponsored by:
Delegate Carmen Amedori, District 5A
Delegate Susan L. M. Aumann, District 42
Delegate Joseph R. Bartlett, District 4A
Delegate Gail H. Bates, District 9A
Delegate David G. Boschert, District 33A
Delegate Joseph C. Boteler, III, District 8
Delegate Charles R. Boutin, District 34A
Delegate Emmett C. Burns, Jr., District 10
Delegate Joan Cadden, District 31
Delegate Virginia P. Clagett, District 30
Delegate Galen R. Clagett, District 3A
Delegate Mary A. Conroy, District 23A
Delegate Bob A. Costa, District 33B
Delegate Clarence Davis, District 45
Delegate Steven J. DeBoy, Sr., District 12A
Delegate John P. Donoghue, District 2C
Delegate Don Dwyer, District 31
Delegate George C. Edwards, District 1A
Delegate Donald B. Elliott, District 4B
Delegate William J. Frank, District 42
Delegate Barry Glassman, District 35A
Delegate Hattie N. Harrison, District 45
Delegate Patrick N. Hogan, District 3A
Delegate Thomas E. "Tim" Hutchins, District 28
Delegate Richard K. Impallaria, District 7
Delegate Mary-Dulany James, District 34A
Delegate Sally Jameson, District 28
Delegate J. B. Jennings, District 7
Delegate Wade Kach, District 5B
Delegate Anne Kaiser, District 14
Delegate Kevin Kelly, District 1B
Delegate Susan Wolf Krebs, District 9B
Delegate Mary Ann E. Love, District 32
Delegate Susan K. McComas, District 35B
Delegate Pat McDonough, District 7
Delegate Brian K. McHale, District 46
Delegate Robert A. McKee, District 2A
Delegate Joseph J. Minnick, District 6
Delegate LeRoy E. Myers, Jr., District 1C
Delegate Anthony J. O'Donnell, District 29C
Delegate George W. Owings, III, District 27B
Delegate Joanne S. Parrott, District 35A
Delegate Christopher B. Shank, District 2B
Delegate Michael D. Smigiel, Sr., District 36
Delegate Richard Sossi, District 36
Delegate Nancy R. Stocksdale, District 5A
Delegate Paul S. Stull, District 4A
Delegate John G. Trueschler, District 42
Delegate Frank S. Turner, District 13
Delegate Richard B. Weldon, Jr., District 3B
Bill indexed under the following Subjects:


Bill Text: First Reading (PDF), Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal Note: Available (PDF)
Amendments: None offered