2003 Regular Session


File Code: Gaming
Sponsored By:
Delegates Franchot, Anderson, Barkley, Barve, Benson, Bobo, Bohanan, Bozman, Bronrott, Brown, Burns, Cadden, Cane, Carter, V. Clagett, Conroy, Conway, D. Davis, Donoghue, Doory, Dumais, Feldman, Frush, Goldwater, Gordon, Gutierrez, Hammen, Harrison, Heller, Holmes, Hubbard, Hurson, James, Jameson, Jones, Kaiser, Kelley, King, Krysiak, Lee, Love, Madaleno, Malone, Mandel, McHale, McIntosh, Menes, Mitchell, Moe, Montgomery, Morhaim, Murray, Nathan-Pulliam, Niemann, Parker, Pendergrass, Petzold, Proctor, Quinter, Ramirez, Ross, Rudolph, Simmons, Sophocleus, Stern, Taylor, and F. Turner
Moratorium on Expanded Gaming - Commission to Study Video Lottery Terminals in Maryland


Prohibiting the State from authorizing any additional form of gaming in the State for a specified period; establishing a Commission to Study Video Lottery Terminals in Maryland; requiring the Commission to review and evaluate the potential effects and fiscal implications of permitting video lottery terminals in the State; requiring the Commission to report findings and recommendations by December 31, 2003; providing for the membership of the Commission; etc.

History by Legislative Date

House Action
First Reading Ways and Means
Hearing 2/25 at 1:00 p.m.
Senate Action
No Action
Sponsored by:
Delegate Peter Franchot, District 20
Delegate Curt Anderson, District 43
Delegate Charles E. Barkley, District 39
Delegate Kumar P. Barve, District 17
Delegate Joanne C. Benson, District 24
Delegate Elizabeth Bobo, District 12B
Delegate John L. Bohanan, Jr., District 29B
Delegate K. Bennett Bozman, District 38B
Delegate William A. Bronrott, District 16
Delegate Anthony G. Brown, District 25
Delegate Emmett C. Burns, Jr., District 10
Delegate Joan Cadden, District 31
Delegate Rudolph C. Cane, District 37A
Delegate Jill P. Carter, District 41
Delegate Virginia P. Clagett, District 30
Delegate Mary A. Conroy, District 23A
Delegate Norman H. Conway, District 38B
Delegate Dereck E. Davis, District 25
Delegate John P. Donoghue, District 2C
Delegate Ann Marie Doory, District 43
Delegate Kathleen M. Dumais, District 15
Delegate Brian J. Feldman, District 15
Delegate Barbara Frush, District 21
Delegate Marilyn R. Goldwater, District 16
Delegate Michael R. Gordon, District 17
Delegate Ana Sol Gutierrez, District 18
Delegate Peter A. Hammen, District 46
Delegate Hattie N. Harrison, District 45
Delegate Henry B. Heller, District 19
Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr., District 23B
Delegate James W. Hubbard, District 23A
Delegate John A. Hurson, District 18
Delegate Mary-Dulany James, District 34A
Delegate Sally Jameson, District 28
Delegate Adrienne A. Jones, District 10
Delegate Anne Kaiser, District 14
Delegate Darryl A. Kelley, District 26
Delegate Nancy J. King, District 39
Delegate Carolyn J. Krysiak, District 46
Delegate Susan C. Lee, District 16
Delegate Mary Ann E. Love, District 32
Delegate Richard S. Madaleno, Jr., District 18
Delegate James E. Malone, Jr., District 12A
Delegate Adrienne A. Mandel, District 19
Delegate Brian K. McHale, District 46
Delegate Maggie McIntosh, District 43
Delegate Pauline H. Menes, District 21
Delegate Van T. Mitchell, District 28
Delegate Brian R. Moe, District 21
Delegate Karen S. Montgomery, District 14
Delegate Dan K. Morhaim, District 11
Delegate Gareth E. Murray, District 20
Delegate Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, District 10
Delegate Doyle Niemann, District 47
Delegate Rosetta C. Parker, District 47
Delegate Shane E. Pendergrass, District 13
Delegate Carol S. Petzold, District 19
Delegate James E. Proctor, Jr., District 27A
Delegate Neil Quinter, District 13
Delegate Victor R. Ramirez, District 47
Delegate Justin D. Ross, District 22
Delegate David D. Rudolph, District 34B
Delegate Luiz Simmons, District 17
Delegate Theodore Sophocleus, District 32
Delegate Joan F. Stern, District 39
Delegate Herman Taylor, District 14
Delegate Frank S. Turner, District 13
Bill indexed under the following Subjects:


Bill Text: First Reading (PDF), Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal Note: Available (PDF)
Amendments: None offered