May 15, 2002

The Honorable Casper R. Taylor, Jr.
Speaker of the House
State House
Annapolis MD 21401

Dear Mr. Speaker:

In accordance with Article II, Section 17 of the Maryland Constitution, I have today vetoed House Bill 741 - St. Mary's County - Alcohol Beverage Board - Chairman.

House Bill 741 would require the Alcohol Beverage Board of St. Mary's County to elect a Chairman from among the five members of the Board, who are appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. Currently, the Governor appoints the five members, with the advice and consent of the Senate, by selecting one member from each of the County Commissioner districts and one at-large member. The at-large member is the Chairman.

The law in Maryland regarding the appointment of Alcohol Beverage Boards is far from uniform. However, in the vast majority of counties where the Governor appoints the members, the Governor also appoints the Chairman. I am not aware of any public policy reason to change the current appointment process in St. Mary's County.

For the above reasons, I have vetoed House Bill 741.

Parris N. Glendening