2002 Regular Session


File Code: Family Law Prior Year Introduction As: HB 65/01 - JUD Crossfiled with: SENATE BILL 654
Sponsored By:
Delegates Carlson, W. Baker, Barkley, Barve, Benson, Bobo, Bohanan, Bronrott, Cadden, Conroy, Cryor, DeCarlo, Dypski, Edwards, Franchot, Frush, Goldwater, Gordon, Grosfeld, Healey, Hecht, Heller, Hixson, Howard, Hubers, Hurson, A. Jones, V. Jones, Kagan, Kirk, Klausmeier, Klima, Krysiak, La Vay, Love, Mandel, Marriott, McKee, Menes, Mohorovic, Morhaim, Nathan-Pulliam, Paige, Parrott, Patterson, Pendergrass, Petzold, Phillips, Riley, Rosso, Rudolph, Shriver, Snodgrass, Sophocleus, Swain, Turner, Valderrama, and Zirkin
Family Law - Child Support - Secondary Education


Establishing that a child support order issued on or after October 1, 2002, continues in effect after the child receiving the support attains the age of majority, if the child is enrolled full time in secondary school and continues to reside with the custodial parent; authorizing the court to continue a child support order issued before October 1, 2002; and establishing that a child support order for a child who has attained the age of majority terminates upon the occurrence of specified events.

History by Legislative Date

House Action
First Reading Judiciary
Hearing 3/5 at 1:00 p.m.
Unfavorable Report by Judiciary
Senate Action
No Action
Sponsored by:
Delegate Paul H. Carlson, District 39
Delegate Wheeler R. Baker, District 36
Delegate Charles E. Barkley, District 39
Delegate Kumar P. Barve, District 17
Delegate Joanne C. Benson, District 24
Delegate Elizabeth Bobo, District 12B
Delegate John L. Bohanan, Jr., District 29B
Delegate William A. Bronrott, District 16
Delegate Joan Cadden, District 31
Delegate Mary A. Conroy, District 23
Delegate Jean B. Cryor, District 15
Delegate Diane DeCarlo, District 6
Delegate Cornell N. Dypski, District 46
Delegate George C. Edwards, District 1A
Delegate Robert L. Flanagan, District 14B
Delegate Peter Franchot, District 20
Delegate Barbara Frush, District 21
Delegate Marilyn R. Goldwater, District 16
Delegate Michael R. Gordon, District 17
Delegate Sharon M. Grosfeld, District 18
Delegate Anne Healey, District 22A
Delegate C. Sue Hecht, District 3
Delegate Henry B. Heller, District 19
Delegate Sheila E. Hixson, District 20
Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard, District 24
Delegate Nancy M. Hubers, District 6
Delegate John A. Hurson, District 18
Delegate Adrienne A. Jones, District 10
Delegate Verna L. Jones, District 44
Delegate Cheryl C. Kagan, District 17
Delegate Ruth M. Kirk, District 44
Delegate Katherine Klausmeier, District 8
Delegate Martha S. Klima, District 9A
Delegate Carolyn J. Krysiak, District 46
Delegate Richard La Vay, District 15
Delegate Mary Ann E. Love, District 32
Delegate Adrienne A. Mandel, District 19
Delegate Salima Siler Marriott, District 40
Delegate Robert A. McKee, District 2A
Delegate Pauline H. Menes, District 21
Delegate Jacob J. Mohorovic, Jr., District 7
Delegate Dan K. Morhaim, District 11
Delegate Shirley Nathan-Pulliam, District 10
Delegate Jeffrey A. Paige, District 44
Delegate Joanne S. Parrott, District 35A
Delegate Obie Patterson, District 26
Delegate Shane E. Pendergrass, District 13A
Delegate Carol S. Petzold, District 19
Delegate Wendell F. Phillips, District 41
Delegate B. Daniel Riley, District 34
Delegate Mary M. Rosso, District 31
Delegate David D. Rudolph, District 35B
Delegate Mark K. Shriver, District 15
Delegate Louise V. Snodgrass, District 3
Delegate Theodore Sophocleus, District 32
Delegate Darren M. Swain, District 24
Delegate Frank S. Turner, District 13A
Delegate David M. Valderrama, District 26
Delegate Robert A. Zirkin, District 11
Bill indexed under the following Subjects:
Bill affects the following Statute:
Family Law
( 12-101.1 )


Bill Text: First Reading (PDF), Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal Note: Available (PDF)
Amendments: None offered