2002 Regular Session


File Code: Transportation - Generally Prior Year Introduction As: HB 994/01 - W&M
Sponsored By:
Delegates Carlson, Phillips, R. Baker, Barve, W. Baker, Baldwin, Barkley, Bartlett, Benson, Boschert, Boutin, Branch, Brinkley, Bronrott, Brown, Burns, Busch, Cane, Clagett, Cole, Conroy, Conway, Cryor, C. Davis, DeCarlo, Dembrow, Dobson, Donoghue, Edwards, Elliott, Franchot, Fulton, Getty, Giannetti, Gladden, Glassman, Goldwater, Greenip, Grosfeld, Harrison, Hecht, Hurson, Hutchins, James, Kach, Kagan, Kelly, Kirk, Klausmeier, Klima, La Vay, Linton, Love, McClenahan, McKee, McHale, Menes, Minnick, Mitchell, Montague, Moe, Murphy, Oaks, O'Donnell, Owings, Paige, Parrott, Patterson, Pitkin, Riley, Rosso, Rzepkowski, Shank, Sher, Shriver, Snodgrass, Sophocleus, Stocksdale, Stull, Valderrama, Walkup, Weir, Wood, and Zirkin
Transportation Funding - Mass Transit - Sales and Use Tax


Altering the distribution of sales and use tax revenue; creating a Mass Transit Account within the Transportation Trust Fund; providing for the distribution of specified sales and use tax revenue to the Account; pledging specified taxes collected to pay the principal and interest on highway construction bonds; providing for periodic increases to the rate of the sales and use tax; limiting the use of the Account to funding transit capital and operating expenses; providing for a delayed effective date; etc.

History by Legislative Date

House Action
First Reading Ways and Means
Re-assigned Ways and Means & Appropriations
Hearing 3/4 at 4:30 p.m.
(Ways and Means)
Hearing cancelled
Hearing 3/13 at 12:00 p.m.
Hearing 3/19 at 1:00 p.m.
Senate Action
No Action
Sponsored by:
Delegate Paul H. Carlson, District 39
Delegate Rushern L. Baker, III, District 22B
Delegate Wheeler R. Baker, District 36
Delegate Robert C. Baldwin, District 33
Delegate Charles E. Barkley, District 39
Delegate Joseph R. Bartlett, District 3
Delegate Kumar P. Barve, District 17
Delegate Joanne C. Benson, District 24
Delegate David G. Boschert, District 33
Delegate Charles R. Boutin, District 34
Delegate Talmadge Branch, District 45
Delegate David R. Brinkley, District 4A
Delegate William A. Bronrott, District 16
Delegate Anthony G. Brown, District 25
Delegate Emmett C. Burns, Jr., District 10
Delegate Michael E. Busch, District 30
Delegate Rudolph C. Cane, District 37A
Delegate Virginia P. Clagett, District 30
Delegate William H. Cole, IV, District 47A
Delegate Mary A. Conroy, District 23
Delegate Norman H. Conway, District 38
Delegate Jean B. Cryor, District 15
Delegate Clarence Davis, District 45
Delegate Diane DeCarlo, District 6
Delegate Dana Lee Dembrow, District 20
Delegate Michael V. Dobson, District 43
Delegate John P. Donoghue, District 2C
Delegate George C. Edwards, District 1A
Delegate Donald B. Elliott, District 4B
Delegate Peter Franchot, District 20
Delegate Tony E. Fulton, District 40
Delegate Joseph M. Getty, District 5
Delegate John A. Giannetti, Jr., District 13B
Delegate Lisa A. Gladden, District 41
Delegate Barry Glassman, District 35A
Delegate Marilyn R. Goldwater, District 16
Delegate Janet Greenip, District 33
Delegate Sharon M. Grosfeld, District 18
Delegate Hattie N. Harrison, District 45
Delegate C. Sue Hecht, District 3
Delegate John A. Hurson, District 18
Delegate Thomas E. "Tim" Hutchins, District 28
Delegate Mary-Dulany James, District 34
Delegate Wade Kach, District 9A
Delegate Cheryl C. Kagan, District 17
Delegate Kevin Kelly, District 1B
Delegate Ruth M. Kirk, District 44
Delegate Katherine Klausmeier, District 8
Delegate Martha S. Klima, District 9A
Delegate Richard La Vay, District 15
Delegate Samuel C. Linton, District 28
Delegate Mary Ann E. Love, District 32
Delegate Charles A. McClenahan, District 38
Delegate Brian K. McHale, District 47A
Delegate Robert A. McKee, District 2A
Delegate Pauline H. Menes, District 21
Delegate Joseph J. Minnick, District 7
Delegate Van T. Mitchell, District 28
Delegate Brian R. Moe, District 21
Delegate Kenneth C. Montague, Jr., District 43
Delegate Donald E. Murphy, District 12A
Delegate Nathaniel T. Oaks, District 41
Delegate Anthony J. O'Donnell, District 29C
Delegate George W. Owings, III, District 27B
Delegate Jeffrey A. Paige, District 44
Delegate Joanne S. Parrott, District 35A
Delegate Obie Patterson, District 26
Delegate Wendell F. Phillips, District 41
Delegate Joan B. Pitkin, District 23
Delegate B. Daniel Riley, District 34
Delegate Mary M. Rosso, District 31
Delegate James E. Rzepkowski, District 32
Delegate Christopher B. Shank, District 2B
Delegate Tod David Sher, District 14A
Delegate Mark K. Shriver, District 15
Delegate Louise V. Snodgrass, District 3
Delegate Theodore Sophocleus, District 32
Delegate Nancy R. Stocksdale, District 5
Delegate Paul S. Stull, District 4A
Delegate David M. Valderrama, District 26
Delegate Mary Roe Walkup, District 36
Delegate Michael H. Weir, District 6
Delegate John F. Wood, Jr., District 29A
Delegate Robert A. Zirkin, District 11
Bill indexed under the following Subjects:
Bill affects the following Statutes:
Tax - General
( 2-1302.2 , 2-1303 )
( 3-215 , 3-216 , 3-401 )


Bill Text: First Reading (PDF), Third Reading, Enrolled
Fiscal Note: Available (PDF)
Amendments: None offered